Philippines Rugby League
Philippines Rugby League

By Erick Elefante, Date: 29/1/13

The Philippines National Rugby League (PNRL) has selected 45 Filipino-heritage players to represent 3 Philippines teams at the Cabramatta International 9s on the 2nd February:


1. John Acluba (Unattached – NSW)
2. Jeremy Anderson (Toowoomba Brothers – Qld)
3. Jason Bedford (Navy Titans – NSW)
4. Mathew Bedford (Navy Titans – NSW)
5. Sam Bernstrom (Sunshine Coast Sea Eagles – Qld)
6. Steven Bernstrom (Sunshine Coast Sea Eagles – Qld)
7. Ashley Black (Balmain Rugby Union – NSW)
8. Steven Boyle (Macarthur Uni – NSW)
9. John Butterworth (Souths Acacia – Qld )
10. Fred Collina (Belrose Sea Eagles – NSW)
11. Ashley Costuna (Bungendore Tigers – ACT)
12. Amante Decena (Penrith Brothers – NSW)
13. Leslie Downey (Cambridge Park – NSW)
14. Jason Dreves (East Campletown – NSW)
15. Eldridge Emanace (Carina Tigers – Qld )
16. Richard Goodwin (Narrabeen Sharks – NSW)
17. Dennis Gordon (Quenbeyan Blues – ACT)
18. Nestor Junior Guizman (Browns Plains Bears – Qld)
19. Kim Hills (Unattached – NSW)
20. Micah Hines (Booval Swifts – Qld)
21. Michael Holt (Souths Newcastle – NSW)
22. Odyssey Laderas (Ponsonby Ponies NZ)
23. Sean Lynch (Brothers Townsville – Qld)
24. Carmillo Manuyag (Ponsonby Ponies NZ)
25. Carlos Marbury-Picatoste (St Clair Comets – NSW)
26. Arwin Marus (Tweed Coast Raiders – Qld)
27. James Marcus (Tweed Coast Raiders – Qld)
28. Mike Marklew (Blacktown Workers – NSW)
29. Shane Matthews (Blacktown Workers – NSW)
30. Mark Mooney (Kingsgrove Colts – NSW)
31. Michael Nettleship (Erina – NSW)
32. Ron Pena (UTS Tigers -NSW)
33. Rez Phillips (Souths Logan Magpies – Qld)
34. Richard Powell (Southport Tigers – Qld)
35. Glen Power (St Clair Comets – NSW)
36. Mark Jono Reyes (UTS Tigers – NSW)
37. Scott Sandaga (Fairfield United – NSW)
38. Edward Smith (Canberra Uni Cows – ACT)
39. Jake Smith (South Newcastle – NSW)
40. Luke Srama (Southport Tigers – Qld) Club Captain
41. Ned Stephenson (Mounties – NSW)
42. Kyle Weh (Oakdale – NSW)
43. James Willougbhy (Mckillop Catholic College – NSW)
44. Jason Wright (Greenbank Raiders – Qld)
45. Justin Wrigley (Tweed Coast Raiders – Qld)

The 45 players coming from New Zealand (2), NSW (25), Queensland (15) and the ACT (3) will be divided into the Philippine Airlines (PAL) Tamaraw; Blue, Red and White teams on Friday the 1st of February.

All the Filipino-heritage players are excited to represent the Philippines and do their best for their country of heritage, with all players having one or both parents of Filipino descent.

The three teams will be supported on the day by family and friends coming from all over Sydney, Newcastle, Canberra, Brisbane and Northern Queensland.

Further support will be forthcoming from local Filipino community leaders from the Philippine Community Council of NSW and the Filipino Australian Movement for Empowerment.

Philippine Government support will come from Consul General Anne Jalando-on Louis and Consul Marford Angeles. The attendance of Philippine government officials last year was a much appreciated, morale boosting support for the players and they again welcome their official presence this year.

The PAL Tamaraws are eager to have the support of the Filipino community so all are invited to come to the tournament at the Cabramatta leagues Club on the 2nd of February. Any enquiries about the PAL Tamaraws can be directed to the contact address located on its website