South African Rugby League

By Phil Caplan, Date: 8/3/13

The South African Rugby League season came to an exciting end with the club finals held at Tuks Groenkloof Campus.


Tuks Reds claimed the First Division title, the Rhino Cup, defeating Middleburg Tigers 36-0; Andre Loader with a brace, Jean Coetzer, Chester Mbekela, Neels Venter, Allan Kasselman, and Riaan Laidlaw claiming their tries. Riaan Engelbrecht converted four and was honoured after playing his final game in a 13-year stint with the club.

The Second Division Protea Cup was a compelling contest, with Tuks Blues leading 16-12 at the break, holding on to win 32-24 against cross-town rivals Silverbacks. Ian Engelbrecht, Christo Greyling, Carel Van Lill, Steynberg Van Zyl, Kleintjie Adendorf and Thabang Mathebula posted the Tuks tries, Chuck De Jager landing four conversions for the sudents. For the Silverbacks, Corne Gerber, Brendon de Bruyn, Casey Jones and Pora Kotze scored their touchdowns.