South African Rugby League

Date: 10/4/13

England Students captain Mark Wilson believes the 2013 Student Rugby League World Cup could produce another Super League superstar.

Within the last two years, Former Leeds Metropolitan University players Jimmy Keinhorst and Alex Walmsley have made the step up into the professional ranks following spells in the student game.

“There’s a lot of untapped talent in the Student game, and supporters will get a good chance to see it up close at the World Cup.

“Student Rugby League has a lot to offer at the Festival of Rugby League World Cups.” It will be the first time that South Africa sends a team to compete in the Student Festival of World Cups, and Fanie Bredenhann, Director of Coaching for South African Rugby League, is very optimistic. “the bulk of the team comes from Tuks, or else known as the University of Pretoria, and have been playing together for a while now. We have also included some very talented players from the Western Cape, Middelburg and Northwest Province, ensuring we have a strong squad of qaility players”

“Rugby league is still an amateur sport in South Africa, and players need to raise funds to play for their country. This has made selection and training camps difficult, but the players are enthusiastic, the coaches are doing a great job and we are looking forward to a strong showing in the 2013 Student World Cup.”

The Technical Staff compromises the following people: Jeno van Biljon (Director: Students), Fanie Bredenhann (Director: Coaching), Jonothan Soares (Assistant Coach), Nicholas Espin (Assistant Coach), Deon Kraemer (Trainer), Riaan Coetzee (Physiotherapist), Frik van der Merwe (Team Manager)

Allan Kasselman (TuksRL-UP), Andre Laoder (TuksRL-UP), Carel van Lill (TuksRL-UP), Chester Mbekela (TuksRL-UP), Christo Joubert (TuksRL-UP), Christo Louw (TuksRL-UP), Christo Nelson (Middelburg Tigers), Collins Mashilo (Potch NWU), Danie Strydom (Middelburg Tigers), Divan Lotz (Cape Buccaneers), Gerhard de wet (TuksRL-UP), Hans du Plessis (TuksRL-UP), Hein Olivier (TuksRL-UP), Hein Pretorius (TuksRL-UP), Ian van Deventer (TuksRL-UP), Jacques Hattingh (Middelburg Tigers), Jean Coetzer (TuksRL-UP), Jean-Di Oosthuizen (Middelburg Tigers), Jean-Pierre Nel (TuksRL-UP), Johan Harmse (TuksRL-UP), Keenan Frans (Cape Buccaneers), Martin Meyer (Middelburg Tigers), Manie Loots (TuksRL-UP), Marco Marais (Cape Buccaneers), Nardus Raubenheimer (TuksRLUP), Neels Venter (TuksRL-UP), Paaul van Jaarsveld (TuksRL-UP), Riaan Laidlaw (TuksRL-UP), Rudolf Prinsloo (Bears), Rupert Wells (TuksRL-UP), Ryan Espin (Cape Buccaneers), Shaune Bouwer (TuksRL-UP), Sihle Barnabas (Middelburg Tigers), Steynberg van Zyl (TuksRL-UP), Willem de Beer (Middelburg Tigers)

The inaugural University World Cup was held in New Zealand in 1986 when the Rugby League International Federation realised an opportunity to international championship for its players at the Tertiary education level.

Since that inaugural tournament, six further World Cups have been held, with 16 different nations taking part over the years.

Australia, England, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Scotland, South Africa, Wales

Group stage matches at stadia in West Yorkshire from the 3rd of July 2013 with Finals Day at Headingley Carnegie Stadium on 14 July 2013.

New Zealand (1986), Australia (1989), Australia (1992), Australia (1996), New Zealand(1999), New Zealand (2005), New Zealand (2008)