South African Rugby League

Date: 1/10/13

SARL today announced the squads that will play against New South Wales Country League in the warm-up Combined Clubs game as well as the international match. 

The Combined Clubs match will take place on the 12th of October 2013 at Silverton Rugby Club. The first club match is at 12h00 with the main match kicking of at 16h00.

The international friendly will be played at Bosman Stadium in Brakpan on the 18th of October at 19h00 in the evening, with the curtain raiser starting at 17h00.

Gerry Gendall, National Team Coach, was very impressed with the level of play at the Team Trails, saying: “a few months ago there were obvious gaps between players, but the players today all lifted their game and fitness levels considerably, and it was difficult to pick a Rhino and a Combined Squad as every players was as good as the next.”

The National Rhino Team is as follows:

Allan Kasselman ; Jean-Di Oosthuysen ; Jonothan Soares ; Deon Kramer ; Ian van Deventer ; Hein Pretorius ; Adriaan Laidlaw ; Jean Coetzer ; Hans du Plessis ; Christo Louw ; Hein Olivier ; Shaun Bouwer ; Nardus Raubenheimer ; Elardus Erasmus ; Johan Fritz ; Gideon Fick ; Jean-Pierre Nel

Steeden and Sportslab sponsor the National Team.

The Combined Clubs Team is as follows:

Martin Meyer ; Dolf van Vuuren ; Ettiene Booysen ; Lee Langenhoven ; George van Rooyen ; Sehle Barnabas ; Conre Gerber ; Tjaardt van der Waldt ;Waldo Nelson ; Marcelle  Slabbert ; Siviwe Mpondo ; Werner Remboldt ; Charl Steenkamp; Paul van Jaarsveldt ; Donovan Loser ; Hannes Engelbrecht ; Marco Marais ; Steynberg van Zyl


Action Ford, Sportslab, Steeden and Maxxiumsport sponsor the Combined Clubs.

The games will be at the following venues:

SARL Combined Clubs vs New South Wales Country League

12 October 2013 at 16h00, Silverton Rugby Club, Silverton, Pretoria

SARL Rhino’s vs New South Wales Country League

18 October 2013 at 19h00, Bosman Stadium, Brakpan, Johannesburg