England Rugby League
England Rugby League

Australia Rugby League

By Richard Cowley, Updated: 26/10/13

Teams: England v Australia

Venue: Millennium Stadium, Cardiff, Wales. Capacity 74,500

Date: Saturday 26th October 2013

Kick-off time: 2.30pm (Local Time)

Sydney (Australia – New South Wales) Sunday, 27 October 2013 at 12:30:00 AM

Brisbane (Australia – Queensland) Saturday, 26 October 2013 at 11:30:00 PM

Auckland (New Zealand) Sunday, 27 October 2013 at 2:30:00 AM

London (United Kingdom – England) Saturday, 26 October 2013 at 2:30:00 PM

2013 RLWC Ticket information: http://www.rlwc2013.com/tickets

2013 RLWC TV viewing information: Channel Seven will broadcast all RLWC2013 matches live in Australia on the 7mate channel. In the UK the BBC will show all England games along with the RLWC Final while Premier Sports will broadcast all other RLWC games.

Overview: The first game of the 2013 RLWC will see world cup hosts England take on their arch rivals Australia. England will be looking to get off to a good start in their opening world cup game. England / Great Britain haven’t won a World Cup since they were awarded the cup on for and against after drawing with Australia 10 all at the Stade de Gerland in Lyon, France in 1972. England have won the RLWC on three occasions (1954,1960,1972).

To make the task all the much harder for the English they were defeated by newcomers Italy 14 – 15 in a World Cup warm up match at Salford. England will need to be on their game if they are any chance of defeating Australia.

Australia will once again be going into the 2013 RLWC as favourites to win the tournament. Australia will want to reclaim the title of world cup champions after losing to New Zealand in the 2008 RLWC final in Brisbane, Australia. The Kangaroos have dominated the rugby league world cup tournament having won the world cup on 9 occasions (1957, 1968, 1970, 1975, 1977, 1985 – 1988, 1989 – 1992, 1995, 2000)

On back of England’s defeat to Italy, Australia will be going into the match with a mental edge. The first game for the Australian’s can always be a danger game. Unlike England, Australia haven’t played any warm-up matches so it is possible that the Australian’s might still need to blow out some cobwebs come Saturday.

For more information on the 2013 RLWC click here

To talk to other fans about the 2013 RLWC click here

2013 RLWC England v Australia teams

England Team for Australia Clash:

Carl Ablett (Leeds Rhinos, Hunslet Parkside)

George Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs, Dewsbury Moor)

Sam Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs, Dewsbury Moor)

Thomas Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs, Dewsbury Moor)

Rob Burrow (Leeds Rhinos, Featherstone Lions)

Josh Charnley (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

Rangi Chase (Castleford Tigers, Dannevirke Tigers)

Leroy Cudjoe (Huddersfield Giants, Newsome Panthers)

Liam Farrell (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

Brett Ferres (Huddersfield Giants, Smawthorne Panthers)

Ryan Hall (Leeds Rhinos, Oulton Raiders)

Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves, New Spring Lions)

Lee Mossop (Wigan Warriors, Hensingham)

James Roby (St Helens, Blackbrook)

Kevin Sinfield (captain) (Leeds Rhinos, Waterhead)

Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

Kallum Watkins (Leeds Rhinos, Latchford Albion)

Ben Westwood (Warrington Wolves, Normanton Knights)

Gareth Widdop (Melbourne Storm, King Cross)

Head coach: Steve McNamara

Australia Team for England Clash: 

1. Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)

2. Brett Morris (St George Illawarra Dragons)

3. Brent Tate (North Queensland Cowboys)

4. Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

5. Darius Boyd (Newcastle Knights)

6. Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

7. Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)

8. Matthew Scott (North Queensland Cowboys)

9. Cameron Smith (C) (Melbourne Storm)

10. James Tamou (North Queensland Cowboys)

11. Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans)

12. Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)

13. Paul Gallen (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Interchange (Two to be omitted)

14. Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers)

15. Andrew Fifita (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

16. Luke Lewis (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

17. Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos)

18. Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)

19. Nate Miles (Gold Coast Titans)

Head coach: Tim Sheens