Ireland Rugby League

Updated: 10/10/13

Ireland Head Coach Mark Aston has today announced his 24 man squad for the upcoming Rugby League World Cup.

The final squad includes a total of ten Super League players and four players from Australia’s NRL competition with the remaining players coming from the Championship and the NSW Cup in the form of Joshua Toole.

Wigan and Catalan Wingers Pat Richards and Damien Blanch have been included in the squad alongside the Grix Brother’s, Simon and Scott, who return to the squad for the first time since 2010.

From the NRL Brett White (Canberra Raiders), Rory Kostjasyn (North Queensland Cowboys), James Hasson (Manly Sea Eagles) and Api Pewhairangi (Parramatta Eels) have all been included in Aston’s final 24 man squad.

In total nine players who competed for Ireland in the 2008 World Cup have been included and will be looking to form a rare club for players who have represented Ireland in two Rugby League World Cups.

The squad will continue to be led by Featherstone Rovers scrum half Liam Finn who was confirmed as captain by Mark Aston in 2012.

Speaking on naming his squad Aston had this to say “I am really pleased with the squad we have named, which is a combination of experience and younger up and coming players from both hemispheres.”

“I am confident that we are fully equipped to be competitive in what is a really tough group and we are really looking forward to the challenge ahead against three of the best teams in the world.”

Ireland Begin their World Cup Campaign on the 28th of October in Rochdale where they face the side who eliminated them from the 2008 tournament, Fiji.

Ireland 24 Man World Cup Squad:

Dave Allen (Widnes Vikings), Luke Ambler (Halifax), Bob Beswick (Leigh Centurions), Damien Blanch (Catalans Dragons), Danny Bridge (Warrington Wolves), Ben Currie (Warrington Wolves), Liam Finn (Featherstone Rovers), Simon Finnigan (Leigh Centurions), Scott Grix (Huddersfield Giants), Simon Grix (Warrington Wolves), Kurt Haggerty (Barrow Raiders), James Hasson (Manly Sea Eagles), Rory Kostjayn (North Queensland Cowboys), Stuart Littler (Leigh Centurions), Tyrone McCarthy (Warrington Wolves), James Mendeika (Warrington Wolves), Anthony Mullally (Huddersfield Giants), Eamon O’Carroll (Widnes Vikings), Apirana Pewhairangi (Parramatta Eels), Pat Richards (Wigan Warriors), Colton Roche (Sheffield Eagles), Marc Sneyd (Castleford Tigers), Joshua Toole (St George Illawarra Dragons), Brett White (Canberra Raiders)

Head coach: Mark Aston