Australian Rugby League
Australian Rugby League

By Richard Cowley,  Date:24/10/13

Australia have come out of the blocks early to name their squad for the opening game of the 2013 Rugby League World Cup against England in Cardiff.

Cameron Smith will captain the Kangaroos with Brent Tate’s experience landing him a place at centre with Greg Inglis.

Tim Sheen has also named an extended bench with two to be omitted prior to kick-off.

Australia go into the match with the old enemy as hot favorites.

Kick-off time: Sat Oct 26th 2.30pm (Local Time), Sydney (Australia – New South Wales) Sunday, 27 October 2013 at 12:30:00 AM, Brisbane (Australia – Queensland) Saturday, 26 October 2013 at 11:30:00 PM, Auckland (New Zealand) Sunday, 27 October 2013 at 2:30:00 AM, London (United Kingdom – England) Saturday, 26 October 2013 at 2:30:00 PM

 Australian Team for England clash

1. Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)

2. Brett Morris (St George Illawarra Dragons)

3. Brent Tate (North Queensland Cowboys)

4. Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

5. Darius Boyd (Newcastle Knights)

6. Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

7. Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)

8. Matthew Scott (North Queensland Cowboys)

9. Cameron Smith (C) (Melbourne Storm)

10. James Tamou (North Queensland Cowboys)

11. Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans)

12. Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)

13. Paul Gallen (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Interchange (Two to be omitted)

14. Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers)

15. Andrew Fifita (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

16. Luke Lewis (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

17. Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos)

18. Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)

19. Nate Miles (Gold Coast Titans)

Fixture Details : Oct 26th 2.30pm England v Australia (World Cup)