Czech Rugby League
Czech Rugby League

By Phil Caplan, Date: 8/11/13       

South Sydney Rabbitohs Chief Executive Shane Richardson has given his backing to the development of rugby league in the Czech Republic. He and his wife Kath were guests of honour at the CZRLA annual presentation awards night in Prague and then following days Division Two Grand Final and thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

“It was a great honour to be involved,” he said. “Rugby League is truly a worldwide sport now and it is crucial that we assist in developing the game in areas like the Czech Republic. The passion of the players, coaches and officials was obvious on the night of the presentation and that was shown on the field the next day.”

“To Andy Mulhall and Richard York I say thank you for the invitation. To the Czech Rugby League I say thank you for spreading our great game into your great country,” he added.

Mulhall, the Czech development officer, noted that Richardson’s presence had been a major boost. “It was uplifting for everyone connected with the sport here,” he said. “It was great for our guys who really appreciated the magnitude of his presence yet the way he happily and genuinely interacted with them.”

Chrudim Angels secured their second trophy of the CZRLA season when, after having already won the 2013 CZRLA Second Division Championship, they claimed the Grand Final 28-0 against Hradec Kralove. The match was played in chilly conditions in Chrudim, the hosts scoring seven tries with Marek Pluhar and Viteslav Caslavka claiming a brace each.

Caslavka was awarded the John Anderson Medal for being judged the Man of the Match. Both clubs are expected to accept an invitation to step-up to the CZRLA First Division in 2014.  

Angels player and Club Manager, Lukas Hergott said, “The lads were very keen to impress in front of Shane. We hope that he enjoyed being involved as much as we enjoyed having him, and that we will see him visit us again sometime soon.”


CZRLA 2013 Individual Player of the Year Awards

CZRLA International Player of the Year: Petr Sedina

CZRLA 1st Division Championship Player of the Year: Jan Buben

CZRLA 1st Division Championship Player of the Year Runner Up: Venca Fiser

CZRLA 2nd Division Player of the Year: Ladislav Cintler


All 3 awards are calculated on the basis of votes tallied from opposition players and Match Officials after each round of the CZRLA Championships.

Milan Mrtynek Medal – 1st Division Grand Final Man of the Match: Marcel Novak

John Anderson Medal – 2nd Division Grand Final Man of the Match: Viteslav Caslavka

CZRLA Life Membership: Milan Mrtynek and John Anderson

CZRLA pre-season 9s winners: Lokomotiva Beroun

CZRLA 1st Division Champions & Grand Final Winners: Lokomotiva Beroun

CZRLA 2nd Division Champions & Grand Final Winners: Chrudim Angels