PNG Rugby League
PNG Rugby League

Date: 2/11/13

The PNG Intrust Super Cup team will begin preparations for entry into the competition in 2014 with an off-­‐season selection camp in Port Moresby.

The camp, to be held at the Bomana police College will start on Tuesday 3rd December and continue until the 20th December 2013. Players arrive into camp on Monday 2nd  December.

53 players from across the nation have been invited to attend and will be under the watchful eye of Head Coach Michael Marum as the team begins its preparations in Ernest.

The players have been identified from the Digicel Cup, National Championships and schoolboys programs and will take part in the camp which will be reduced to a full time 25 man strong squad at the end of the camp said PNGRFL CEO Brad Tassell;

“Michael has played a big part in identifying the players along with his staff. There were a few players invited who declined for various reasons and no doubt there will be debate about players missing out etc, but the final Intrust Super Cup squad will come from the 53 players attending the camp. There is a lot of talent there and the competition for the final spots will be pretty fierce. Michael is without doubt the right man to get the best out of the players. He also has a very strong support network around him to ensure he is given the best possible chance to be successful, which I have no doubt he will be.”

Head Coach Michael Marum said:

“My Coaching staff have done a fantastic job setting up out at Bomana and the testing and training will be at an NRL quality level, using the very latest training, testing and gym equipment. We are deadly serious and this will be managed at a level unlike anything ever before in PNG. The ball is in their court now and its up to them to impress. It will be a physically demanding, very tough camp where players will get an opportunity to push for selection in the final 25-­‐man squad. Talking to Brad alter his CEO’s meeting last week in Brisbane, I know most of the Intrust Super Cup teams started their off season training at the beginning of November so we have some ground to make up, but I’m confident with the staff I have we will have them prepared.

We have a very talented group to choose from and the players have a big learning curve but with the proper training under a full time professional program I believe they can and will excel.”

In other news the Club will reveal its name and logo at a special launch of the clubs naming rights sponsor in the next week, with other major sponsorship announcements to follow.

The clubs pre-­‐season schedule has already been finalised taking on 2013 Season minor premiers the Northern Pride in Cairns on Sunday 9th February 2014.

In a possible major coup for the PNG franchise, talks are also nearing the final stages for confirmation of the clubs final trial game against English Super League Champions the Wigan Warriors on the 15th February in Kokopo, just a week before Wigan take on the Sydney Roosters in the World Club Challenge in Sydney on February 22nd.

Preparations will be finalised with the Clubs Fundraising season launch at Dynasty Restaurant on Saturday the 22nd February 2014.

The Queensland Rugby League revealed at a meeting of club CEO’s last Thursday in Brisbane that the PNG team will face competition heavyweights Redcliffe in the Intrust Super Cup Game of the round season opener and televised game at Redcliffe on Sunday 2nd March. The clubs first home game will be a week later in Kokopo against 2013 Premiers the Mackay Cutters on Saturday 8th March.

PNG Intrust Super Cup Off-­‐Season Selection Camp attendees:

Adex Wera, Albert Patak, Adam Korave, Atte Bina Wabo, Ben Wemin, Bernard Tatsim Jnr, David Loko, Charlie Wabo, Lawrence Tu’u, Enoch Maki, Dion Aiye, Essau Sione, Francis Paniu, Gary Loh, George Benson, Gonzela Urakusie, Israel Eliab, Jason Tali, Larsen Marabe, Joe Bruno, Noel Zemming, Noel Joel, Josiah Abavu, Sebastian Pandia, Roger Laka, Mark Mexico, Timothy Lomai, Thompson Teteh, Tiger Emery, Wellimgton Albert, Wartovo Puara Jnr, Willie Minoga, Nao Boge, Brandy Peter, Edward Goma, Bob Wilson, Samson Otmar, Victor Jack, William Tako, James Simet, Noel Kopaya, Chiko Mairi, Martin Bomai, Gahunna Silas, Eliakim Lukara, Konnie Bernard, Wesley Totori, Ereman Ken, Patrick Inapero, Bland Abavu.