New Zealand Rugby League

Date: 27/4/14

NZ Kiwis coach Stephen Kearney has named six newcomers to his national team to face Australia in next Friday’s Anzac Test at Sydney’s Allianz Stadium.

Form and injuries have played a part in the Kiwis selection, with only five players – captain Simon Mannering, wing Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, centre Dean Whare, halfback Shaun Johnson, and props Sam Moa and Jesse Bromwich – returning from the side that lost to the Kangaroos in last year’s World Cup final.

On the other side of the ledger, fullback Peta Hiku, five-eighths Isaac John, utility Ben Henry and hooker Siliva Havili, and props Martin Taupau and Kenny Bromwich will join the national team for the first time.

Bromwich will join older brother Jesse in the 18-man squad, the first set of siblings to suit up together since Jason and Nathan Cayless in 2006.

The side also features five that played their junior football with the Manurewa Marlins club – the Bromwichs, Havili, Hiku and veteran prop Greg Eastwood.

“We’re still very excited by the talent we have available,” says Kearney. “Many of these guys have progressed through Junior Kiwis, and into full professional and now international careers.

“There are also some old faces returning and we think this mix will bring a really positive energy to the group.

“This team is an Anzac story in itself – a band of young men thrown together to do whatever it takes to perform for 80 minutes on Friday night.

“We can’t wait.”

Tickets for the 2014 ANZAC Test on May the 2nd can be purchased at Ticketek.

Kick-off: Friday May the 2nd at 7.30pm local time, Sydney Football Stadium, Moore Park.

New Zealand Kiwis Squad

Gerard Beale, (St George-Illawarra Dragons)
Adam Blair (Wests Tigers)
Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm)
Kenneath Bromwich  (Melbourne Storm)
Greg Eastwood (Canterbury Bulldogs)
Tohu Harris (Melbourne Storm)
Siliva Havili (NZ Warriors)
Ben Henry (NZ Warriors)
Peta Hiku (Manly Sea Eagles)
Isaac John (Penrith Panthers)
Shaun Johnson (NZ Warriors)
Simon Mannering (NZ Warriors)
Sam Moa (Sydney Roosters)
Jason Nightingale (St George-Illawarra Dragons)
Kevin Proctor (Melbourne Storm)
Martin Taupau (Wests Tigers)
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters)
Dean Whare (Penrith Panthers)

Coach: Stephan Kearney

Previous Anzac Test Results

2013 Australia 32 v New Zealand 12, Canberra Stadium, Canberra, Crowd 25,628
2012 New Zealand 12 v Australia 20, Eden Park, Auckland, Crowd 35,329
2011 Australia 20 v New Zealand 10, Robina Stadium, Gold Coast, Crowd 26,301
2010 Australia 12 v New Zealand 8, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium, Melbourne, Crowd 29,442
2009 Australia 38 v New Zealand 10, Lang Park, Brisbane, Crowd 37,152
2008 Australia 28 v New Zealand 12, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney, Crowd 34,571
2007 Australia 30 v New Zealand 6, Lang Park, Brisbane, Crowd 50,241
2006 Australia 50 v New Zealand 12, Lang Park, Brisbane, Crowd 44,191
2005 Australia 32 v New Zealand 16, Lang Park, Brisbane, Crowd 40,317
2004 Australia 37 v New Zealand 10, Newcastle International Sports Centre, Newcastle, Crowd 21,537
2000 Australia 52 v New Zealand 0, Stadium Australia, Sydney, Crowd 30,245
1998 New Zealand 22 v Australia 16, North Harbour Stadium, Auckland, Crowd 25,000