Denmark Rugby League

Date: 7/8/14

Denmark RL has announced their 25-man squad for the Nordic Cup clash against holders Sweden on 16th August at the DTU playing grounds, Lyngby, Copenhagen (kick off 2pm)

The squad, which is coming off the back off a first-ever Test win – 16-10 against Norway at the Bislett Stadium in Oslo – contains 13 players from the Copenhagen Black Swans and nine from the Jutland team that competed in the East v West Origin series.

Head coach Nigel Kitching will pick the final game-day selection after training this weekend.

Gateshead Storm centre, Martin Pedersen-Scott said: ”I cannot wait to fly back to Denmark and play my part in the Nordic cup.”

”Rugby league continues to grow in Denmark and Scandinavia as a whole and that is reflected in how competitive the Cup has become. It speaks volumes that in three years there have been as many winners. Bring on the Swedes – kom nu Danmark!”

In the opening clash, Norway led at the start of both halves but the Vikingen were twice pegged back and then overhauled by a resilient Danish side, a try and two goals from debutant Richard Groom proving to be the difference.
Winger Morten Dam, a former Vice President and one of the founding players commented: “To have our first officially sanctioned victory recorded is historic for Danish rugby league.”

“As a player who was there at the start, it is hugely significant and I am pleased to have played a role. This sport is all about the future, though, the Sweden match and beyond that – we are building solid foundations for the long term.”

Allan Llobel, the founding father behind rugby league in Jutland added: “I’m looking forward to going into battle again to prove that Denmark is something worth fighting for.”

Denmark squad (v Sweden)

Name Club
Jawad Azir – Copenhagen
Emil Borggren – Unattached
Brian Brost – Copenhagen
Morten Dam – Copenhagen
Jonas Damgaard Harreskov – Jutland
Christoffer Ellebirke – Copenhagen
Justin Eyles – Jutland
Rich Groom – Copenhagen
Eugene Hanrahan – Copenhagen
Jesper Ika – Leigh East
Rob King – Copenhagen
Viiga Lima – Jutland
Allan LLobel – Jutland
Orveh Melchior – Jutland
Rich Naylor – Copenhagen
Zanki Nicolajsen – Jutland
Martin Pedersen-Scott – Gateshead Storm
Nathan Smalley – Copenhagen
Neil Smith – Jutland
Tom Søgaard Bonde – Jutland
Thor Thomsen – Copenhagen
Thomas Tilsted – Copenhagen
Josh Whitehead – Copenhagen
Andrei Ungreanu – Copenhagen
Malipo Yusufu – Jutland