Rugby League Norway
Rugby League Norway

By Joel Saaghy 27/08/2014

Rugby League Norge has recently named their train-on squad for the final Nordic Cup game against Sweden. The winner of this game will be the runner up in the tri-series, with Denmark already claiming the Cup after defeating both Norway and Sweden.

The Vikings Perpignan-based Head Coach, Craig West has returned to the helm of the Vikings in 2014, his previous stint was during their 2011 European Shield campaign.

Involved with the Catalans Dragons lower grades, West hopes to engage the Norwegian squad and foster a culture and competitiveness in the national team.

“My main objective is to raise the basic skill level and breed in a professional attitude on the field,” Coach West stated.

West also looks to build upon the Vikings narrow 16-10 loss to Denmark, the eventual 2014 champions, while building the foundations for Norway’s future.

“The first camp leading into the game against Denmark went really well. I was happy how well they listened and quickly they reacted to the advice that was given.”

West is confident his team will be competitive against Sweden, but is wary of the 2013 champions’ ability to bounce back from their 44-6 loss to Denmark.

“I have really enjoyed working with Norway this year and felt progress was made already.

“The test will be what we can transfer from the Denmark game and implement against Sweden. Sweden will have home advantage so we will need to bring the game to them. Selection won’t be easy.”

The train-on squad will be narrowed down during the camp leading into the August 30 match-up. The squad includes two debutants in Lloyd Stø and Bjørn Pettersen, which will be looking to impress during the camp for a national jersey.

The game will be held at Centrala IP Sportsground in Lund, Sweden. Gates open 1.00pm for a 2.00pm kick-off.

2014 Nordic Cup Game 3 Train-on squad
1. Jørgen Schmidt (Oslo Capitals)
2. Harald Mikalsen (Flekkefjord Tigers)
3. Matthew Davidson (Porsgrunn Pirates)
4. Sonny Mellor (Flisbyen Broncos)
5. Kai Roger Holm (Porsgrunn Pirates)
6. Dave Hunter (Flisbyen Broncos)
7. Magnus Sundsfjord (Bodø Barbarians)
8. Andreas Thorsen (Oslo Capitals)
9. Kristoffer Milligan (Flekkefjord Tigers)
10. Sindre Sundby (Flisbyen Broncos)
11. Joshua Hornby (Oslo Capitals)
12. Cam Leslie (Oslo Capitals)
13. Isaac Schmidt (Oslo Capitals)
14. Kevin Båtnes (Porsgrunn Pirates)
15. Lloyd Andre Stø (Flekkefjord Tigers)
16. Bjørn Pettersen (Oslo Capitals)
17. Alex Mbala (Oslo Capitals)
18. Fredrik Østvold (Porsgrunn Pirates)
19. Nils Haigh (Saddleworth Rangers)
20. Bastian Fromm (Porsgrunn Pirates)