Date: 16/9/14

Six players have been added to the extended NZ Kiwis squad after the weekend’s round of NRL playoffs.

Kiwis coach Stephen Kearney has named Josh Hoffman and Alex Glenn from the Brisbane Broncos to his training group, along with Kevin Proctor, Tohu Harris, and the Bromwich brothers – Jesse and Kenny – from the Melbourne Storm.

Their inclusion brings the squad to 26, with several more candidates still alive in the competition finals and yet to be named. Cronulla Sharks wing Valentine Holmes, named last week, has withdrawn from consideration to chase his fortunes with the Junior Kangaroos.

The final selections for next month’s Four Nations tournament will be made after the NRL Grand Final on October 5. The Kiwis begin their campaign against Australia at Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium on October 25.

The train-on squad so far is:
Gerard Beale (St George Dragons), Adam Blair (Wests Tigers), Jesse Bromwich, Kenny Bromwich, Fa’amanu Brown (Cronulla Sharks), Sosaia Feki (Cronulla Sharks), David Fusitua (Vodafone Warriors), Glenn, Harris, Siliva Havili (Vodafone Warriors), Hoffman, Konrad Hurrell (Vodaone Warriors), Shaun Johnson (Vodafone Warriors), Ngani Laumape (Vodafone Warriors), Thomas Leuluai (Vodafone Warriors), Simon Mannering (Vodafone Warriors), Suaia Matagi (Vodafone Warriors), Ben Matulino (Vodafone Warriors), Matt McIlwrick (Canberra Raiders), Jason Nightingale (St George Dragons), Proctor, Sauaso Sue (Wests Tigers), Brad Takairangi (Gold Coast Titans), Martin Taupau (Wests Tigers), Bodene Thompson (Wests Tigers), Manu Vatuvei (Vodafone Warriors)

Meanwhile, Joseph Manu, Taane Milne, Braden Uele (Sydney Roosters), Sam Manuleleua and Tulsa Saumamao (South Sydney Rabbitohs) join the Junior Kiwis group, preparing for their test against the Junior Kangaroos on October 18.

The squad is:
Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne Storm), Herman Ese’ese (Canterbury Bulldogs), Jahrome Hughes (Gold Coast Titans), Sione Katoa (Penrith Panthers), Manu, Manuleleua, Milne, Una Mohi (Melbourne Storm), Niua Puaka (Melbourne Storm), Saumamao, Renouf To’omaga (Canterbury Bulldogs), Uele