Australian Schoolboys Rugby League

Date: 26/11/14

England Combined Regional Academy have named an 18-man squad for the opening match of the Australian Schoolboys’ tour at Derwent Park, Workington on Wednesday November 26 (6.30pm).

The England squad is drawn from players involved with the RFL’s three regional Academies in Cumbria, the North East and the Midlands, many of whom have already secured contracts with First Utility Super League, Kingstone Press Championship and League 1 clubs.

England Combined Regional Academy coach Dave Clark is impressed with the way the team has prepared for this game and come together in such a short space of time.

The squad will be testing themselves against some of the best young Australian talent who are signed to NRL clubs such as Brisbane Broncos, Sydney City Roosters and 2014 Grand Final winners South Sydney Rabbitohs.

“The lads have completed two intensive weekend training camps in Sheffield ahead of this game,” said Clark.

“The camps were tough and the lads handled it well. They have adapted really well with the limited time we have had together. They’ve picked up our playing philosophies quickly and everyone has shown fantastic attitudes towards everything we have asked them to do.

“The players are ready and now it’s time to test ourselves against some of Australia’s most promising young talent.

“We welcome the Australian Schoolboys to Cumbria and hope that they and everyone else involved in this game have an enjoyable experience.”

The England squad for the 2014 Autumn Academy International Series is as follows (regional Academy, professional club and community club in brackets):

Theerapol Ritson (Cumbria, Workington, Ellenbourgh Rangers)
Joeseph Hambley (Cumbria, Barrow, Ulverston)
Shane Toal (Cumbria, Barrow, Ulverston)
Hanley Dawson (Cumbria, Gloucester All Golds, Millom)
Lewis Davey (North East, Gateshead, Cramlington Rockets)
Alexander Bielby (North East, Durham Tigers)
Jordan Johnstone (Cumbria, Kells)
Ben Gray (Midlands, London Broncos, Leicester Storm)
Brandon Moore (Cumbria, Castleford, Ellenbourgh Rangers)
Sam Luckley (North East, Gateshead, Walton Eagles)
Patrick Hargreaves (North East, Whitley Bay Barbarians)
Matt Davies (Midlands, London Broncos, Leicester Storm)
Calum Farrer (Cumbria, Wath Brow Hornets)
Dylan Bale, Midlands (Coventry Bears, Leicester Storm)
Lewis Thompson (North East, Cramlington Rockets)
Trae O’Sullivan (Midlands, Coventry Bears)
Daniel Bleek (North East, Gateshead, Peterlee Pumas)
Zach Clark (North East, Gateshead, Jarrow Vikings)

Australian Schoolboys coach Brian Battese has named the following 20-man squad (school and professional club in brackets):

Gideon Gela (Kirwan State High School Townsville QLD, North Queensland Cowboys)
Braden Robson (St Francis Xavier College Hamilton NSW, Newcastle Knights)
Tevita Cottrell (Patrician Brothers College Blacktown NSW, South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Latrell Mitchell (Marist College Pagewood NSW, Sydney City Roosters)
John Olive (Endeavour Sports High School Caringbah NSW, South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Jayden Brailey (Acquinas Catholic College Menai NSW, Cronulla Sharks)
Brock Lamb (St Mary’s College Maitland NSW, Newcastle Knights)
Luciano Leilua (Endeavour Sports High School Caringbah NSW, St George-Illawarra Dragons)
Jack Cogger (Mackillop Catholic College Warnervale NSW, Newcastle Knights)
Oliver Clark (Terra Sancta College Schofields NSW, Penrith Panthers)
Tom Amone (The Hills Sports High School Seven Hills NSW, Parramatta Eels)
Hame Sele (Kingsgrove High School Kingsgrove NSW, St George-Illawarra Dragons)
Ashleigh Nisbet (St Gregory’s College Cambeltown NSW, Cronulla Sharks)
Connor Tracey (Woolooware High Woolooware NSW, Cronulla Sharks)
Jacob Liddle (Wadalba Community School Wadalba NSW, West Tigers)
Tyrell Fuimaono (Patrician Brothers College Blacktown NSW, Parramatta Eels)
Nat Butcher (Macellin College Randwick NSW, South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Keegan Hipgrave (Palm Beach Currumbin State High School Palm Beach QLD, Brisbane Broncos)
Keenan Yorston (Wavell State High School Wavell Heights QLD, Cronulla Sharks)
Jacob Host (De la Salle College Revesby Heights NSW, St George Illawarra Dragons)

The Australian Schoolboys’ tour schedule is as follows:
England Combined Regional Academies V Australian Schoolboys, Wednesday November 26 (Derwent Park, Workington, 6.30pm)

Wigan Warriors Academy v Australian Schoolboys, Saturday November 29 2014 (Solid Strip Community Stadium, Orrell, Wigan, 12.00pm)

Leeds Rhinos v Australian Schoolboys, Tuesday December 2 2014 (Headingley Carnegie Stadium, Leeds, 7.00pm)

Autumn Academy International Series Game One, England v Australian Schoolboys, Saturday December 6 2014, (Leigh Sports Village, Leigh, 2.00pm)

Autumn Academy International Series Game Two, England v Australian Schoolboys, Friday December 12 (Leigh Sports Village, Leigh, 7.00pm)