Date: 28/2/15

There will be expanded domestic competition in Serbia in 2015 following ratification after the SRLF annual general meeting.

The first division will increase from four to six clubs with Red Star, Dorćol, Partizan, Radnički Nova Pazova, Tašmajdan Tigers and Radnički Niš taking part

The season officially begins tomorrow (28th February) with the Super Cup match at BASK Arena in Belgrade between last year’s champions Red Star and national cup holders, Dorćol.

Round one will begin a week later, on 7th and 8th of March.

It was also announced that seven clubs will compete in the Second Division: Zemun, Jedinstvo Pancevo, Warriors Belgrade, New Belgrade, Car Lazar Krusevac, Morava Cheetahs Leskovac, Soko Vranje.

In accordance with the SRLF strategic plan for 2015, there will be corresponding youth championships.

SRLF president Predrag Pantić commented, “We have presented a strategy of further development. The main points in the plan are to strengthen youth rugby and big plans for all national team selections.

The crucial project for us is developing basic rugby league at primary and secondary schools in Belgrade – a project that recently commenced through a partnership with the Australian Embassy in Serbia.“