PNG Rugby League

Date: 9/4/15

PAPUA New Guinea Rugby Football League has announced a 29-member squad for the one-off Test match against Fiji next month.

The squad, later to be reduced to the final 18 on Sunday, 26th April, was put together by the PNGRFL National Selectors and Kumuls coach Mal Meninga and assistant Michael Marum.

Chairman Sandis Tsaka sanctioned the squad on behalf of the PNGRFL Board and approved its announcement today.

The Kumuls will play a Test match against the Fiji Batis at CBUS Stadium, Robina, Gold Coast on May 2 in what is a double-header on the day. The other Test match is between Tonga and Samoa.

Should the Kumuls win their Test, PNG is to host the winner of the Tonga- Samoa Test in Papua New Guinea on October 25.

The selectors have reminded the players that because they have been named doesn’t mean that they are automatic selections as they would have to continue to work hard to make it into the final team.

The squad is:

David Mead (Gold Coast Titans), Nene MacDonald (Sydney Roosters), Bland Abavu (SP Hunters), Kato Ottio (SP Hunters), Wellington Albert (Penrith Panthers), Israel Eliab (SP Hunters), Roger Laka (SP Hunters), Luke Page (Canberra Raiders), Ray Thompson (NQ Cowboys), Rod Griffin (Ipswich Jets), Rhyse Martin (Townsville Blackhawks), Tyson Martin (Mackay Cutters), Adam Korave (SP Hunters), Wartovo Puara (SP Hunters), Willy Minoga (SP Hunters), Brandy Peter (SP Hunters), Stanton Albert (Penrith Panthers), Ase Boas (SP Hunters), Josh Damen ( Souths Logan Magpies), Kurt Baptiste (Canberra Raiders), Timothy Lomai (SP Hunters), Esau Siune (SP Hunters), Adex Wera (SP Hunters), Lawrence Tu’u (SP Hunters) Noel Zeming (SP Hunters), Thompson Teteh (SP Hunters), Enock Maki (SP Hunters), Henry Noki (SP Hunters), Stargroth Amean (SP Hunters).