2017 RLWC qualifiers

Date: 13/10/14

Following their historic 24-20 win over the British Amateur Rugby League Association tourists last weekend at Grizzley Park, Pretoria, South Africa head coach Brian Greige has named his 20-man squad for the two 2017 World Cup qualifiers against Lebanon later this month.

“What a journey we have ahead,” said Greige. “Our hard fought win against BARLA, which was the first in 48 years, tells me that the squad selection process with director of the Rhinos Hendrik Mulder, is moving us in the right direction.

“We discussed how we can challenge such a great side as Lebanon and we have found more generals who have the vision, knowledge and capability to make something from nothing.

Greige added, “The experience of the heritage players and those who have been in the national side for a number of years also helps to take us where we need to be.

“The depth in the Rhinos is now coming of age and we have players who will be a part of the future squads, our development process is now in full circle from schools through academy’s to clubs and provincial sides.

“We are the underdogs for these two matches in Pretoria, but that’s how we like it!”

Players from 10 clubs, six of them in South Africa, are represented in the squad.

SARL squad:

Jaice Terblanche (Barberton Bulldogs RLC), Marcell Viljoen, Rudolph Prinsloo, Theo Rhodes (Bears RLC), Shuab Samaai (Cape Town Hyenas RLC), Jason King (Emerald Tigers QRL), Deon Kramer, Jean Coetzer, Jean Pierre Nel (Harlequins RLC), Louis Musson (Parramatta RL NSWRL), Bradley Williams, Halvor Harris (Perth RL), Shane Gillham (Titans RL QRL), Christo Louw, Dwayne Botma, Johan Joubert, Nardus Raubenheimer, Ruaan Du Preez, Rupert Wells (UP-Tuks RLC), Gideon Mzembe (Wynnum Manly QRL).