Golden Boot


Date: 20/11/15

Johnathan Thurston has done it again taking out the Golden Boot Award for the 3rd time. Thurston now has the 2011, 2013 and 2015 Golden Boot in his trophy cabinet. What makes Thurston’s feat even more remarkable is Australia didn’t play any end of year internationals in 2015.

The award caps off a big year for Thurston who won the 2015 NRL Grand Final as captain of the North Queensland Cowboys and received the Provan Summons medal for best player on Field. He also won Australia’s prestigious Dally M Award.

The World XIII was made up of 13 players from 5 nations. Recent Test series winners England only managed two players in the World XIII.

2015 World XIII:
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (New Zealand)
Semi Radradra (Fiji)
Kallum Watkins (England)
James Roberts (Australia)
Jermaine McGillvary (England)
Anthony Milford (Samoa)
Johnathan Thurston (Australia)
Jesse Bromwich (New Zealand)
Cameron Smith (Australia)
Matt Scott (Australia)
Josh Jackson (Australia)
Boyd Cordner (Australia)
Corey Parker (Australia)

Rugby League Golden Boot Honour Roll

1984 Australia Wally Lewis Five-eighth Wynnum Manly
1985 Australia Brett Kenny Five-eighth Parramatta Eels
1986 Australia Garry Jack Fullback Balmain Balmain Tigers
1987 New Zealand Hugh McGahan Second-row Sydney Roosters
Australia Peter Sterling Halfback Parramatta Eels
1988 England Ellery Hanley Five-eighth Wigan Warriors
1989 Australia Mal Meninga Centre Canberra Raiders
1992 England Garry Schofield Five-eighth Leeds Rhinos
1999 Australia Andrew Johns Halfback Newcastle Knights
2000 Australia Brad Fittler Five-eighth Sydney Roosters
2001 Australia Andrew Johns Halfback Newcastle Knights
2002 New Zealand Stacey Jones Halfback New Zealand Warriors
2003 Australia Darren Lockyer Fullback Brisbane Broncos
2004 England Andrew Farrell Loose forward Wigan Warriors
2005 Australia Anthony Minichiello Fullback Sydney Roosters
2006 Australia Darren Lockyer Five-eighth Brisbane Broncos
2007 Australia Cameron Smith Hooker Melbourne Storm
2008 Australia Billy Slater Fullback Melbourne Storm
2009 Australia Greg Inglis Centre Melbourne Storm
2010 New Zealand Benji Marshall Five-eighth Wests Tigers
2011 Australia Johnathan Thurston Halfback North Queensland Cowboys
2012 England Kevin Sinfield Loose forward Leeds Rhinos
2013 Australia Johnathan Thurston Five-eighth North Queensland Cowboys
2014 New Zealand Shaun Johnson Halfback New Zealand Warriors
2015 Australia Johnathan Thurston Five-eighth North Queensland Cowboys

The Golden Boot is awarded annually by Rugby League World magazine