Torrent Tigres claim Spanish Rugby League Championship


Date: 31/3/16

Torrent Tigres came from behind to claim the third Spanish rugby league championship, beating Custodians Madrid 10-8 in a terrific encounter at the Alter Stadium, Torrent in front of an enthusiastic crowd of over 350.

The hosts took the lead in the fifth minute, hooker Carlos Jané sending full-back Enrique Toledo over at the side of the posts, Alberto Manjón goaling.

Custodians replied in the 17th minute, Spanish international Toni Puerta with an unconverted try that was the only other score in a tight first-half.

The visiting forwards began to get on top at the start of the second period, Alberto Moreno putting his side ahead for the first time but wide with the conversion attempt.

After an hour, and on the back of some superb defence on both sides, Tigres came up the winning try, Spanish national captain and player/coach Aitor Dàvila palming the ball on to centre David Ubeda for the crucial score.

Dàvila commented: “The guys are young and were nervous, experience is key in these games, we made some mistakes on attack but held on to win. I am so proud of the effort that they put in that I have agreed to continue with them as coach for another year. It means everything to be the best team in the country.”

Opposite number Juanlu Mudarra, Custodians coach said: “The home fans really got behind their side who worked well tactically and were eager to get amongst us. We prepared well for two weeks and it went down to small details. There were only flashes of quality from our decisive players but our team held together. The Tigers played all their cards perfectly any time we controlled the game and were fair winners in a tight contest.”

The match can be viewed here –

1 Enrique Toledo 2 Dani Morales 3 Mario Rodríguez 4 David Úbeda 5 Nacho Gómez 6 Aitor Romero 7 Alberto Manjón 8 Rubén Romero 9 Calos Jané 10 Joaco Martínez 11 Vicente Cubes 12 Raúl Simó (c) 13 Aitor Dávila
Sustituciones: 14 Alejandro Domínguez 15 David Valmaña 16 Rubén Úbeda 17 Juan Pablo Rango

Tries: Toledo, Úbeda
Goals: Manjón 1/3

1 Manuel Moreno 2 Pedro Andujar 3 Toni Puerta 4 Juanlu Mudarra 5 Pepe Ribes 6 José Antúnez 7 Carlos Sánchez 8 Isaac Pulgar 9 Gonzalo Fernández 10 Dani Moreno 11 Javier Santiago 12 Álex Sanz 13 Sandro Chirico
Sustituciones: 14 Fran Márquez 15 Ángel Rodríguez 16 Alberto Moreno 17 David Gutiérrez

Tries: Puerta, Moreno
Goals: Rodríguez 0/2

Referee: Tony Palacios