Germany Rugby League

Date: 14/10/16

The German Rugby League (NRLD) has named a 20-man squad for their forthcoming match against Wales Dragonhearts in Osnabrück on 22 October.

This will be the visitors first outing, their representative side made up from players in the domestic leagues as a bridge to the full national team.

Included in the German ranks for the first time are York City Knights’ Ben Dent and Swinton Lion Ben White.

Wales is the mentor country for Germany in the part EU-funded RLEF training and education portal cluster, which also includes Denmark and Ireland.

“Wales have helped us a lot with various aspects of developing the sport including advice and guidance on such things as strategy, membership schemes and insurance,” commented NRLD president Bob Doughton.

“Through the cluster we have very close ties with the Wales coaching and development staff and this match is planned as a further stage in the development of our national team, hence the ‘Mentors Challenge’ title” added Doughton.

The majority of the home squad played in the German domestic league during the summer, with eight cities represented in their selection. “We will be looking for a solid performance and improvements on the two games we have had so far this season in the Western Cup, losing at home to Belgium and winning away in Holland,” Doughton added.

“We are looking forward to playing against and further cementing our ties with Germany,” said Wales RL performance coach Jon Ellis, who will accompany the side. “Relationships between the two nations are growing and this game should ensure future development at international and club level for both. Everyone is looking forward to the trip and further spreading the sport.”

Sebastian Peter, David Ziekursch (Berlin), Liam Doughton, Vivian Seelweger (Dortmund), Karsten Brüning, Mitch Evers, Florian Frede , Jannek Hagenah (Karlshöfen), Mawuli Amefia (Karlsruhe), Joshua Leutenecker, Sebastian Roczyn (Leipzig), Felix Buhla, Arne Falk, Marc Zupan (Münster), Rico Wall (Osnabrück), Andrew Hoggins (Oxford), Zak Bredin, Eddie Briggs (Paderborn), Ben White (Swinton Lions), Ben Dent (York City Knights)

Bradley Williams (Cardiff City RL), Jonny Rae (Chester Gladiators), Harry Boots, Matthew Davies, Curtis Ford, Morgan Jefferies, Aaron Lewis, Daf Philips, Ben Swift, Josh Taylor (West Wales Raiders) Sam Baker, Matthew Cummins, Mike Edwards, Louis Pengelly (Torfaen Tigers), Ethan Coombs, Scott Giles, Dean Higgs, Mike Hurley, Craig Lewis, Ross Price, Yousif Sulliman, Liam Watton (Valley Cougars)