Date: 20/4/17

The bulk of the players selected for Scotland Students for the upcoming Student World Cup in Sydney will play the first of three warm-up matches on Saturday, 22 April (kick off 2pm) against Halifax Reserves.

The match is being staged at Lasswade Rugby Club, just south of Edinburgh, with other games scheduled against Keighley Reserves on Saturday 6 May and Scotland Club XIII on Saturday 17 June. The squad depart for Australia on Friday 30 June.

Head coach, Nathan Graham said: “We started our selection process for the Student World Cup back in October. We had an excellent turn out at our trials and a number of very competitive sessions. Those selected for the squad have been putting a lot of hard work in since then and are now ready to see how things go in a competitive match. We are very grateful to Halifax for taking the time to come up to Scotland to play.”

A total of 17 educational establishments are represented in the 22-man squad, four players studying in Australia; Northumbria University having the highest number with three.

SSRL team manager, Paul Beckett, added: “The opportunity to take part in the Student World Cup is a tremendous one for all our players and staff. The game against Halifax Reserves is a vital part of our preparation for the tournament and we are all looking forward to it.”

Archie Andrade – Maltings College
Douglas Chirnside – Oxford Brookes University
Mark Cordeaux – University of Sheffield
Mike Dowding – Loughborough University
Jordan Duncan – SRUC Elmwood
Liam Faughlin – University of Newcastle, Australia
Jack Elliott – Oxford Brookes University
Justin Faughlin – TAFE Illawarra
Ethan Flowers – Wakefield College
George Geddes – Brunel University
Damien Genocchio – University of Glasgow
Niall Hall – Abertay University
Scott Harrison – Northumbria University
Matthew Hogg – University of Newcastle
Finlay Hutchison – University of Newcastle
Scott Plumridge – Glasgow Clyde College
Jack Plumridge – Strathclyde University
Gavin Reed – Leeds Trinity University
Daniel Turland – Northumbria University
Luke Walters – Leeds Beckett University
Luke Westman – TAFE Illawarra
Toby Williams – Northumbria University