Americas Cup Championship 2017

By Brian Lowe, Date: 16/7/17

The USA Hawks lineup has been announced for the opening game of the Rugby League Americas Championship series.

Seven players will be making their international debut for the US, while six players bring prior Test experience to the squad to face off against Jamaica in Jacksonville, FL, next weekend.

The team will be coached by Sean Rutgerson, who’s on the staff of USA head coach Brian McDermott for the upcoming Rugby League World Cup.

“Sean Rutgerson has a well-balanced and competitive squad to take on the Reggae Warriors,” USARL chairman Peter Illfield tells the League’s official website.

Starting Lineup
1 Gabriel Farley (Philadelphia Fight)
2 Marcus Satavu (Brooklyn Kings)*
3 Junior Vaivai (Illawarra Wests)
4 Taylor Alley (Central Florida Warriors)
5 Jonathan St John (Tampa Mayhem)
6 Dominic DeFalco (Brooklyn Kings)*
7 Matt Walsh (White Plains Wombats)
8 Joshua Rice (New York Knights)
9 Kristian Freed (White Plains Wombats)
10 Andrew Kneisly (Philadelphia Fight)
11 Fotukava Malu (Atlanta Rhinos)*
12 David Ulch (Tampa Mayhem)*
13 Nicholas Newlin (Atlanta Rhinos)

14 Sean Hunt (Atlanta Rhinos)*
15 Martwain Johnson (Delaware Black Foxes)*
16 Bart Longchamp (Central Florida Warriors)
17 Chris Frazier (Northern Virginia Eagles)*
18 Terrance Williams (Atlanta Rhinos) stand-by

* Indicates debut for USA Hawks

Americas Championship Schedule:
USA v Jamaica – Jacksonville, FL (July 22, 2017)
Jamaica v Canada – Kingston, Jamaica (August 26, 2017)
Canada v USA – Toronto, ON (September 16, 2017)