Updated: 5/10/17

The Australian Rugby League Commission has today selected the following players to represent the Kangaroos in the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

Seven members of the Premiership-winning Melbourne Storm outfit have been selected in the Kangaroos squad, which will open its World Cup campaign against England on October 27.

The 24-man squad also includes six debutants; Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights), Wade Graham (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Felise Kaufusi, Jordan McLean, Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm) and Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles).

“This squad has the right mix of youth and experience, as well as an overall balance across the positions for a World Cup campaign,” Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said.

“It was selected based on form, performances in the State of Origin series as well as previously in the green and gold jersey.

“We have a number of players who can play multiple positions and that will be an advantage over the course of what we hope will be six matches.”

Fourteen players from the inaugural Kangaroos Origin Merit Team have been selected in the World Cup Squad.

Premiership-winning skipper Cameron Smith will captain the squad, while Sydney Roosters’ Boyd Cordner has been endorsed as Vice-Captain by Australian Rugby League Commission Chairman John Grant.

The full Kangaroos World Cup squad will travel to Fiji for an exhibition match against both Fiji and PNG on October 14.

The squad, listed alphabetically, is as follows:

Note: Penrith Panthers forward Reagan Campbell-Gillard has been called into the Kangaroos squad following the withdrawal of Andrew Fifita. Penrith Panthers winger Josh Mansour has also been called into the Australian Kangaroos squad following the withdrawal of Darius Boyd.


Player NRL Club Junior Club
Reagan Campbell-Gillard Penrith Panthers Windsor Wolves
Will Chambers Melbourne Storm Nhulunbuy, NT
Boyd Cordner (vc) Sydney Roosters Old Bar Pirates
Cooper Cronk Melbourne Storm Souths Acacia
Josh Dugan St George Illawarra Dragons South Tuggeranong Knights/Valley Dragons
Tyson Frizell St George Illawarra Dragons Corrimal Cougars
Dane Gagai Newcastle Knights Souths Sharks
Matt Gillett Brisbane Broncos Bribie Island Warrigals
Wade Graham Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks Blacktown City
Valentine Holmes Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks Western Lions/Townsville
Ben Hunt Brisbane Broncos Blackwater Crushers
Felise Kaufusi Melbourne Storm Bundaberg Brothers
David Klemmer Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs All Saints Toongabbie
Josh McGuire Brisbane Broncos Aspley
James Maloney Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks St Edwards, Gosford
Josh Mansour Penrith Panthers St Johns Eagles/Kingsgrove Colts
Jordan McLean Melbourne Storm Young Cherrypickers
Michael Morgan North Queensland Cowboys Townsville Brothers
Cameron Munster Melbourne Storm Norths Knights
Billy Slater Melbourne Storm Innisfail
Cameron Smith (c) Melbourne Storm Logan Brothers
Jake Trbojevic Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Mona Vale Raiders
Tom Trbojevic Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Mona Vale Raiders
Aaron Woods Wests Tigers Leichhardt Juniors