PNG v Wales 2017 RLWC


By Rich Cowley, Updated: 24/10/17

Teams: Papua New Guinea v Wales

Venue: Port Moresby National Football Stadium, Papua New Guinea

Date: 28th October 2017

Kick-off time: 3pm (Local Time)

2017 RLWC TV viewing information: Channel 7 will broadcast all 2017 RLWC games in Australia on Free to Air TV. BBC Will broadcast RLWC games across the UK. Sky Sports will Broadcast all RLWC matches in New Zealand. Fiji TV will Broadcast all matches RLWC matches across the Pacific Islands. EM TV will broadcast all RLWC matches across PNG. Astro will broadcast all RLWC matches across Malaysia. PCCW will broadcast all RLWC matches across Hong Kong. DAZN will broadcast all RLWC matches across Japan. OSN Sports will broadcast all matches across the Middle East. Fox Sports will broadcast all matches across the United States.

Overview: Papua New Guinea will have the home advantage when the Kumuls take on Wales in Port Moresby on Saturday the 28th of October. The Kumuls held their own in a 40 minute hit out against the Kangaroos in Suva and also defeated Fiji in the other 40 minute match. The PNG squad look strong with a host of players running around in both the NRL and Super League along with PNG Hunter players who just won the Intrust Super Cup competition for the first time.

Wales haven’t travelled to the other side of the world just to make up the numbers. The Welsh are coming to Australia to win and will have a hostile first game when they meet PNG in Port Moresby. The Welsh team have a mixture of players from all 3 levels of the UK rugby league divisions. With some Super League talent in their ranks the clash against PNG should be a close affair.

2017 RLWC Papua New Guinea v Wales teams

Papua New Guinea 2017 RLWC Team:


1 David MEAD (c)
2 Justin OLAM
3 Kato OTTIO
5 Garry LO
6 Ase BOAS
7 Watson BOAS
8 Stanton ALBERT
9 Wartovo PUARA
10 Luke PAGE
11 Rhyse MARTIN
12 Rod Griffin
13 Paul AITON
15 Willie MINOGA
17 Enock MAKI

18 Lachlan LAM
19 Stargroth AMEAN
20 Wellington ALBERT
21 Moses MENINGA


Wales 2017 RLWC Team:


1 Elliot KEAR
3 Michael CHANNING
4 Andrew GAY
5 Regan GRACE
6 Courtney DAVIES
8 Craig KOPCZAK (c)
9 Steve PARRY
10 Philip JOSEPH
11 Rhodri LLOYD
13 Morgan KNOWLES
14 Matty FOZARD
16 Ben EVANS
17 Chester BUTLER

18 Josh RALPH
19 Dalton GRANT
20 Christiaan ROETS
21 Matthew BARRON