Cook Islands Rugby League


Date: 10/11/17

The Cook Islands Women’s rugby league team for the 2017 Women’s Rugby League World Cup has been named. The Cook Islands will have their work cut out when they take on the heavyweights of Women’s Rugby League, Australia, England and New Zealand over the next two weeks.

The 2017 Women’s Rugby League World Cup begins this coming Thursday the 16th of November at Southern Cross Group Stadium Cronulla with a triple-header featuring New Zealand v Canada, Australia v Cook Islands and England v Papua New Guinea.

The Cook Islands Moana – Meaning the ‘Warriors of the Ocean’ are grouped in Pool A with Australia and England.

In Round 2 on Sunday the 19th of November the Cook Islands have a cross Pool clash with the New Zealand Ferns.

The Moana’s Round 3 match will be against England on Wednesday the 22nd of November.

The top two teams from Pool A and B will advance to the Semi-Finals. The Semi-Finals will be played on the 26th November at Southern Cross Group Stadium · Cronulla.

The Women’s World Cup Final will be held at Brisbane Stadium on the 2nd of December just before the World Cup Final.

About the Cook Islands: The Cook Islands are a small group of 15 islands spread across 2 million square kilometres of ocean. The 15 stars on our national flag represent the 15 islands of the Cook Islands. ‘While many see the distance between islands as a challenge to modern society, our ‘Warriors’ were travelling between island to island for centuries guided only by the signs of nature. They viewed each island as a suburb linked by the ocean, not an island separated by the ocean.

Cook Islands Moana’s Fixtures
Nov 16th Cook Islands vs Australia Thu 4 PM · Southern Cross Group Stadium Cronulla
Nov 19th Cook Islands vs New Zealand Thu 4 PM · Southern Cross Group Stadium Cronulla
Nov 22nd Cook Islands vs England Thu 1.45 PM · Southern Cross Group Stadium Cronulla

The team is as follows
1. TOKA NATUA : Tokoroa, New Zealand
2. TE KURA NGATA-AERENGAMATE : Counties-Manukau, New Zealand
3. TE AMOHAERE NGATA- AERENGAMATE : Counties-Manukau, New Zealand
4. CRYSTAL TAMARUA : Auckland, New Zealand
5. DANIELLE APAINA : Auckland, New Zealand
6. STEPHANIE WILSON : Sydney, Australia
7. ELIZA WILSON : Auckland, New Zealand
8. JOSINA SINGAPU : Gold Coast, Australia
9. KAROL TANEVESI : Sydney, Australia
10. SAMARIA TAIA : Sydney, Australia
11. NATALEE TAGAVAITAU : Auckland, New Zealand
12. KAYLEN IKITULE : Auckland, New Zealand
13. KIANA TAKAIRANGI : Sydney, Australia
15. BENIAMINA KOIATU : Auckland, New Zealand
16. INANGARO MARAEARA : Sydney, Australia
17. MANEA POA-MAOATE : Wellington, New Zealand
18. LYDIA TURUA-QUEDLEY : Melbourne, Australia
19. RUAHEI DEMANT : Auckland, New Zealand
20. CECELIA STRICKLAND : Perth, Australia
21. URSHLA KERE : Brisbane, Australia
22. KIRITAPU DEMANT : Auckland, New Zealand
23. KATELYN ARONA : Christchurch, New Zealand