Philippines v Hungary Cabramatta 9's

Date: 7/2/18

The 3rd of February was a busy Saturday for the Philippines National Rugby League (PNRL), with a team competing in the Cabramatta International 9s in NSW.

The PNRL reserves the Admirals playing the Jake’s Allstars Charity Rugby League Team in an exhibition match preceding the Philippines’ Tamaraws International game against Hungary at Tugun Seahawks RLFC ground in Queensland.

Cabramatta International 9s report:

Reynaldo Penalosa, Captain/Coach of the Philippines side competing in the Cabramatta International 9s stated:

“Leading into the International 9s Tournament we had a lot of new young Filipinos coming through wanting to represent their heritage – 9 of 15 were brand new to the PNRL. The day started well in our 1st game against Papa New Guinea leading at half time, but going down at the fulltime whistle to a very skilled PNG outfit (who eventually made the Major Final against the Indigenous). Our 2nd game going down to Sudan in a game we should have won, but mistakes and poor discipline in key positions took its toll. Leading into our final game the Bowl Trophy decider against Tonga. The boys knew what was needed in a big game with a very tough opposition, 1. Sticking to our sets, 2. Getting into kicking position and 3. Applying pressure for 18 minutes. With the game plan going perfectly for us beating Tonga 22-14 and becoming the 2018 Bowl Trophy Champions. Best player on the day was Vice Captain Ted Smith.”

The PNRL would like to thank our fellow Asian brothers, ASEAN United players Jesse Subrata & Rhys Tucker for stepping in to replace injured Clayton Spendlove & Rey Penalosa who got injured in earlier pool games before the Bowl Final.

Philippines Cabramatta International 9s team:

1- Jarrad Spendlove
2- Tyga Spendlove
3- Vince Young
4- Richard Mante
5- James Butt
6- Jack Butt
7- Johnny Grant
8- Clayton Spendlove
9- Ted Smith (VC)
10-Richard Planca
11-Jordan Zarka
12-Reynaldo Penalosa (Captain/Coach)
13-Jeremy Cairns
14-Cody Grant
15-Will Trigas

Coaching Staff
Reynaldo Penalosa
Michael Holt
JC Aloda
Johnny Jordan
Brendan Alchin

Game 1: Queensland PNG V Philippines 34-12 (Reynaldo Penalosa, Jarrad Spendlove, tries; Ted Smith goal)

Game 2: Sudan V Philippines 20 – 4 (Johnny Grant, try)

Bowl Final: Philippines V Tonga Sharks 22 – 14 (Tyga Spendlove, Cody Grant, Richard Mante, Vince Young, tries; Jeremy Cairns, Tyga Spendlove, James Butt, goals)

Philippines Admirals team report:

The first half of the exhibition match against the Jake’s Allstars was a close game with a score of 6-4 going into the break to the Philippines. In the second half the Philippines Admirals showed their class running away with the game with a final score of 34-10. The PNRL encourage the Rugby League community to visit the Jake’s Allstars Charity Rugby League Team Face Book page and support their work.

Philippines Admirals team:

1- Jericho Nicodemus
2-Jake Cruz
3-David Stewart
4-Darrin Henry
5-Kevin Casinay
6-Kieran Wiggins (c)
7-Tyrone O’Leary
13-Dean Beugauny
9-Ashley Black
10-Bruce Renton
11-Nathan Borey
12-Miri Brown
8-Mick Dalton
14-Thomas Sarangaya
15-Marcus Loui
16-Zac Stone
17-Jhono Reyes
18-Rod Plaza
19-Rene Reitveld
20-Robb Stubbs

Coaching Staff
Mick Godfrey
Jason Carter
Omare Reyes
Daniel Price
Marv Pace
Rhys Campbell
Glenn Phillips
Carl Denhard
Jeff Funnell
Bill Howlett

Philippines V Jake All Stars 34-10 (Kieran Wiggins, Tyrone O’Leary, Jericho Nicodemus, Miri Brown tries; Ashley Black 2 tries; Mick Dalton 5 goals)

Philippines V Hungary International report:

Paul Sheedy PNRL Vice President and Tamaraws International Captain stated:

“The Tamaraws went down to Hungary 30-12.

It was a poor performance from the Tamaraws in wet conditions but take no credit away from Hungary Magyar Bulls who adapted to the conditions better and scored 3 late tries to blow out the score line in what was a tough game of footy played in good spirits by both teams.

The PNRL would like to thank Tugun RLFC for hosting the game and the after match function, all the supporters who braved the conditions, the supporters that tuned in via the live stream, the coaches, managers, medical staff, waterboys, bus drivers and especially the players who all volunteered their time and money to help promote Rugby league and honour our wonderful country the Philippines.

We look forward now to the Emerging Nations World Championships being held in Sydney Australia from September 29th to October 13th 2018.”

Philippines International Tamaraws team:

1-Trent Swanson
2-Jhun Cortez
3-Rupert Zappia
4-Ned Stephenson
5-John Nicodemus
6-Odyssey Laderas
7-Paul Sheedy (c)
8-Rez Phillips (c)
9-James Marcus
10-Ryan Jones
11-Joseph Mallion
12-Will Grooms
13-Steven Bernstrom
14-Ken Kennedy
15-Jeremy Grooms
16-Elvis Jensen
17-Ramon Stubbs

Coaching Staff
Arwin Marcus
Glenn Power
Mick Godfrey
Jason Carter
Omare Reyes
Daniel Price
Rhys Campbell
Paul Abric
Glenn Phillips
Marv Pacey
Carl Denhard
Bill Howlett

Philippines V Hungary 12-30 (Paul Sheedy Trent Swanson, tries; Rupert Zappia 2 goals)