Johnathan Thurston

Date: 8/3/18

North Queensland Cowboys player Johnathan Thurston will become the 30th player to achieve the 300-game milestone when he plays against Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks on Friday night.
Thurston, who debuted in 2002, has won two Premierships – one each with Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs and North Queensland Cowboys – during a career which has also included 37 matches for Queensland and 38 for Australia.

Thurston will be presented with the match ball from his 300th game by ARLC Chairman Peter Beattie following the round-one clash at 1300Smiles Stadium, officially making him the latest member of the exclusive ‘300 Club’.

Thurston will also surpass Matt Bowen’s record for most games for the Cowboys (270 games) on Friday night against the Sharks.

“JT will no doubt go down as one of our best ever,” NRL CEO Todd Greenberg said.

“Not only has he been a wonderful player, but the work he does and the difference he makes off the field make him a true role model.

“On the field, he has toughness, resilience, incredible talent as well as an ability to get the job done when his team needs him.

“The 2015 Premiership win will always be remembered for the central role he played in both the Cowboys’ run through the season as well as the Grand Final.

“On behalf of all Rugby League fans I congratulate him on this achievement.”

THE 300 CLUB (29 players)

App Player Club/s Years

358 Cameron Smith Melbourne 2002-2017
355 Darren Lockyer Brisbane 1995-2011
350 Terry Lamb Wests, Canterbury 1980-1996
349 Steve Menzies Manly, Northern Eagles 1993-2008
347 Corey Parker Brisbane 2001-2016
336 Brad Fittler Penrith, Sydney Roosters 1989-2004
332 Cliff Lyons Norths, Manly 1985-1999
330 Nathan Hindmarsh Parramatta 1998-2012
328 Andrew Ettingshausen Cronulla 1983-2000
325 Geoff Gerard Parramatta, Manly, Penrith 1974-1989
323 Cooper Cronk Melbourne 2004-2017
318 Jason Croker Canberra 1991-2006
317 Hazem El Masri Bulldogs 1996-2009
317 Chris Heighington Wests Tigers, Cronulla 2003-2017
315 Paul Langmack Canterbury, Wests, Easts 1983-1999
315 Luke Priddis C’rra, Bris, Pen, St George Ill 1997-2010
313 Steve Price Bulldogs, Warriors 1994-2009
313 Brent Kite St George Illawarra, Manly, Penrith 2002-2015
312 Ruben Wiki Canberra, Warriors 1993-2008
309 Petero Civoniceva Brisbane, Penrith 1998-2012
307 Brett Kimmorley New, H’ter, Mel, N Eag, Cron, C’bury 1995-2010
307 Luke Lewis Penrith, Cronulla 2001-2017
305 Ryan Hoffman Melbourne, Warriors 2003-2017
304 Paul Gallen Cronulla 2001-2017
303 Anthony Watmough Northern Eagles, Manly, Parramatta 2002-2015
302 Anthony Minichiello Sydney Roosters 2000-2014
301 Luke Ricketson Sydney Roosters 1991-2005
300 Scott Prince N’th Qld, Bris, W Tigers, Gold Coast 1998-2013
300 John Morris New, Parra, Wests Tigers, Cron 2001-2014