Ireland Rugby League

Date: 25/7/18

Ireland and Scotland have named their squads for the Celtic derby in the U19 European Championships, to be held at the Makis Stadium, Belgrade from 5-11 August. The winners go through to the semi finals and the losers play in ranking matches.

Seven domestic clubs are represented in Wayne Kelly’s Ireland squad, with five coming from Longhorns. “Working with these lads for the last six months has been a real pleasure and tells me that Rugby League Ireland is in a good place going forward,” said the head coach. “Leading into the Euro’s everyone has a positive mentality and knows their role. It’s a fantastic opportunity for these young lads to put their skills on show, we will turn heads with our performances.”

A season-long injury playing with UK Super League side Hull Kingston Rovers has given Scottish full international Danny Addy the opportunity to take his first step on the coaching ladder with the young Bravehearts, his cosmopolitan squad containing six players from Edinburgh Eagles.

“We can’t wait to get to Belgrade, we’ve had some great development sessions in Scotland and I’ve been really pleased with how hard the players have worked and their desire to improve,” Addy noted. “We’ve got a really mixed squad with a few lads from Super League Academies and others who have only just started to play. It’s great that we have a healthy number from the Scotland domestic game.



“Ireland are always good, competitive opponents and that has shown when we’ve played them through all the age groups. They’ll have lads in the same situation as us but we’ve been preparing for this tournament since November so we’re confident that the guys can represent themselves really well.”

Sam Cullen, Ryan Curran, Fiach Millward, Conor Smyth (Athy Sharks), James Cromie, Paul McGookin (Belfast Stags), Josh Basthill, Gareth Gardiner, Andrew Smyth (Belfast Met Scholars), Charlie Donnelly (Dublin City Exiles), Jack O’Sullivan (Eastern Rhinos), Sam O’Sullivan, John Why (Galway Tribesmen), Joe Togher (Hindley), Luke Findlow (Ince Rose Bridge), Shalun Carey, Josh MacNamee, Ronan Michael, James Mulvaney, Kevin Varga (Longhorns RL), Zack Fellows (Midland Hurricanes), Jordan McKibbin (Portadown Pumas), Callum O’Neill (Widnes Vikings)

Elliot Campbell (Barrow Island), Liam Punton (Bradford Bulls), Frankie Armstrong, Timmy Kennedy, Jamie McCabe, Sean McKervail, Gregor Mitchell, Alex Williams (Edinburgh Eagles), Daniel May (Halifax Elite Rugby Academy), Clem Harrison (London Skolars), Charlie Emslie, Connor Terrill (Millom RLFC), Callum Kennedy, Chris Paterson (Newcastle Thunder), Fergus Simpson (Newcastle Thunder/Edinburgh Eagles), Jack McMillan (Queensbury ARLFC), Euan Caldwell, Connall McDonagh (Strathmore Silverbacks), Archie Andrade, Iain Oakley (Wakefield Trinity), Adam Hay (Wallsend Eagles)

Opening fixtures – Sunday 5th August

Ukraine v Wales (kick off 15.30)
Ireland v Scotland
Serbia v England
France v Italy