Touch Football

Date: 7/8/18

On Wednesday 8th August the Youth Touch World Cup 2018 taps off in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, and will run until finals day this Saturday.

Australia has sent six elite NRL Touch Football teams to compete in six divisions: under-20s Girls, under-20s Boys, under-18s Girls, under-18s Boys, under-20s Mixed and under-18s Mixed.

There are a total of about 50 teams from nine countries competing in the World Cup: the US, South Africa, New Zealand, China, Hong Kong, India, Singapore, as well as Australia and host country Malaysia.

Touch Football Australia (TFA) CEO Steve Mitchell is excited about the event, which is a precursor to the (Opens) Touch World Cup that will also be held in KL, in 2019.

“The Youth Touch World Cup was last held in 200, and it was taken out by New Zealand, so after a 13-year hiatus, it will be a particularly hotly contested competition between the Aussies and the Kiwis.”

A lot of the players in the Youth Touch World Cup (YTWC) have just finished playing in the inaugural NRL Touch Premiership, in the Newcastle Knights, Parramatta Eels, Wests Tigers, Brisbane Broncos, Gold Coast Titans and North Queensland Cowboys.

The YTWC is run by the Federation of International Touch (FIT), and Australia’s YTWC teams are sponsored by AirAsia.

To keep in touch with YTWC and other NRL Touch Football news, follow NRL Touch Football:
Hashtags: #YouthTouchWorldCup2018 #YTWC2018
Facebook: @touchfootballaustralia
Twitter: @touchfootyaus
Instagram: @touchfootballaustralia
YouTube: @TouchFootballAus