Rugby League World Cup 2021

Date: 24/8/18

Germany have included 15 players from their domestic league in their 19-man squad ahead of the 2021 World Cup Qualifier with the Czech Republic in Osnabruck tomorrow (Saturday), as part of European Championship C – North. The visitor’s win in their opening match against Norway means they can ensure passage to face the winners of the Southern section.

All four clubs who make up the BundesLeague – recently crowned champions for the first time Karlshöfen Moorteufel, Green Hill Hunters, Ruhrpott Rhinos and Westfalen Warriors – are represented for the hosts, along with four heritage players; skipper Brad Billsborough, Connor Hampson, Ben Dent and George Wood, who appeared for Westfalen during the 2018 campaign.

Billsborough takes the armband due to Mawuli Amefia being injured and said: “I am immensely proud to have been given the opportunity to captain Germany, it is a real honour for me and my family. I look forward to leading this talented and committed group of players against what is sure to be a tough Czech side.”

Simon Cooper, joint German national coach added: “Some players have made a round trip of over 1,200km to play in the BundesLeague. The reward is that they are part of the first-ever German team to be involved in the World Cup Qualifiers.”

“This game can be a turning point in Czech rugby league history,“ said their player/coach Ladislav Cintler. His side side defeated Norway 20-12 at home in June but are without man of the match Patrik Koliska. Cintler drafts in two potential debutants, Ondřej Maňák and Bruno Jasiczek.

“This clash with Germany is our final test of this year so it will be our golden point of this international season,” Cintler claimed. “We will put every effort into this match and we want display our best there.”

Martin Apostel, Benedikt Esser, Sebastian Roczyn, David Ziekursch, Norman Ziwitzka, Marc Zupan (Green Hill Hunters), Connor Hampson (Halifax), Karsten Brüning, Renko Fleming, Jannek Hagenah, (Karlshöfen Moorteufel), Ben Dent (Newcastle Thunder), Liam Doughton, Josh Leutenecker, Sebastian Peter, Vivi Seelweger, Phil Wadewitz (Ruhrpott Rhinos), Brad Billsborough (Swinton Lions) Phil Hunz, George Wood (Westfalen Warriors),

Oldřich Chrbolka, Ondřej Preininger, Tomáš Řičica (Chrudim Rabbitohs RLC), Antonín Berk, Filip-Daniel Kittl (Krupka Dragons), Lukáš Krištof, Pavel Mejstřík (Lokomotiva Beroun), Petr Šedina (Mikulov Roosters), Tomáš Adamec, Ladislav Cintler, Richard Gach, Jan Heininger, Jan Mudroch, Filip Špaček (Slavia Hradec Králové), Josef Maňák, Ondřej Maňák (Sporting Treizister Toulon Métropole), Jakub Hudrlík, Aleš Pour (Vrchlabí Mad Squirrels), Bruno Jasiczek (unattached)