Tonga v Australia

Date: 19/9/18

Head coach Kristian Woolf has named a 29-man preliminary squad for Mate Ma’a Tonga’s historic end-of-season Test match against the Australian Kangaroos.

The Mate Ma’a Tonga will play the world champions in a Test at Auckland’s Mount Smart Stadium on October 20.

It will be the first time Mate Ma’a Tonga have faced the Kangaroos.

Woolf named a strong squad today, littered with players who were part of the country’s exciting run to the World Cup semi-finals last year.

“We are very pleased with the depth in the squad we have managed to name for this every important Test match,” said Woolf.

“We feel it is representative of the depth of Tongan rugby league in both the NRL and English Super League, and also rewards players that have made a firm commitment to playing for their country of heritage.

“This will be a huge occasion for Tonga to take on the top-ranked rugby league country in the world, so we need every player we can committed to that goal.”

The final Mate Ma’a Tonga squad will be announced next month, and will go into a 10-day team camp leading up to the Test.

Tickets will be available from

For Test v Australia – 20th October 2018 – Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland

Andrew Fifita – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
Addin Fonua-Blake – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
Mahe Fonua – Wests Tigers
Moeaki Fotuaika – Gold Coast Titans
David Fusitua – Warriors
Siliva Havilli – Canberra Raiders
Ata Hingano – Canberra Raiders
Will Hopoate – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Koniseti Hurrell – Gold Coast Titans
Michael Jennings – Parramatta Eels
Robert Jennings – South Sydney Rabbitohs
Solomone Kata – Warriors
Sione Katoa – Penrith Panthers
Samisoni Langi – Catalans Dragons
Tuimoala Lolohea – Wests Tigers
Sika Manu – Hull FC
Sam Moa – Catalans Dragons
Ben Murdoch-Masila – Warrington Wolves
Joe Ofahengaue – Brisbane Broncos
Tevita Pangai Junior – Brisbane Broncos
Agnatius Paasi – Warriors
Leivaha Pulu – Warriors
Scott Sorensen – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
Ukuma Ta’ai – Huddersfield Giants
Jason Taumalolo – North Qld Cowboys
Tevita Tatola – South Sydney Rabbitohs
Sio Siua Taukeiaho – Sydney Roosters
Peni Terepo – Parramatta Eels
Daniel Tupou – Sydney Roosters