Date: 26/9/18

The Australian Prime Minister, Hon. Scott Morrison MP, has today announced the Prime Minister’s XIII sides to take part in the upcoming PM’s XIII matches against Papua New Guinea in Port Moresby.

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles skipper Daly Cherry-Evans will captain the men’s side, which includes eight players to have represented the Australian Kangaroos.

The squad includes 12 debutants, with Aaron Woods (Cronulla Sharks) being selected in the representative side for a fifth time, having led the team to victory last year.

“Playing in Papua New Guinea is a privilege, as there really is nothing like it anywhere in the world,” PM’s XIII men’s Coach Mal Meninga said.

“We’ve struck a good balance by including some of our more experienced representative players to play alongside some very talented young players,” PM’s XIII men’s Coach Mal Meninga said.

“A strong performance in Port Moresby on Saturday week will go some way to helping decide the final squad we take across to New Zealand for the upcoming Test Matches.”

For the first time, the national women’s side will also officially be known as the Australian PM’s XIII Women’s side, having played as a Jillaroos select side in last year’s double-header.

World Cup winning Jillaroo and Indigenous All Stars captain Rebecca Young has been chosen to captain the women’s squad.

“It’s wonderful for the team to be officially recognised by the Prime Minister and to have his support, alongside the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT),” PM’s XIII Women’s Coach Brad Donald said.

“It provides the ability for us to empower women through rugby league and get some really important and positive messages out around ending gender-based violence.

“It’s also just reward for some of our most-talented women to continue on our elite pathways and experience playing on the international stage.”

Both teams will travel to Brisbane next Wednesday, before departing to Port Moresby the following day (Thursday).

The Prime Minister’s XIII men’s and women’s squads are supported by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT).

Australian PM’s XIII Men’s Squad

1 Corey Allan Brisbane Broncos
2 Zac Lomax St George Illawarra Dragons
3 Jesse Ramien Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
4 Brian Kelly Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
5 Nick Cotric Canberra Raiders
6 Jake Clifford North Queensland Cowboys
7 Daly Cherry-Evans © Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
8 David Klemmer Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
9 Ben Hunt St George Illawarra Dragons
10 Jordan McLean North Queensland Cowboys
11 Tyson Frizell St George Illawarra Dragons
12 Tyrone Peachey Penrith Panthers
13 Jake Trbojevic Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
14 Aaron Woods Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
15 Reagan Campbell-Gillard Penrith Panthers
16 Matt Prior Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
17 Chad Townsend Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
18 Gehamat Shibasaki Brisbane Broncos
19 Reece Robson St George Illawarra Dragons
20 Enari Tuala North Queensland Cowboys