Rugby League Emerging Nations World Cup

Data: 6/10/18

Developing Rugby League regions including Africa, South East Asia, Latin America and the Middle East will kick off their challenge for the Confederations Cup on Sunday (7 October) at Kellyville Ridge alongside countries including Japan, Poland, Greece and Vanuatu who are competing in the Emerging Nations World Championship.

The Confederations Cup competition is made up of players representing countries within regions that are in the early stages of their Rugby League development – Africa United, Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN), Latin Heat and Mediterranean/Middle East.

Rugby League International Development Manager Tas Baitieri said: “Regional teams have provided a unique and successful pathway for individual nations to begin their own journey on the world stage.

“Chile is a perfect example of this as their players began playing in the Latin Heat group and are now weeks away from competing in the 2021 Rugby League World Cup qualifiers as a stand-alone country.”

The Emerging Nations World Championship, which started on Monday 1 October, is now into its third round and will culminate in the final on Saturday 13 October.

NEXT GAMES: Sunday 7 October
Venue: Corner of Fyfe Rd and Carindale St, Kellyville Ridge

Confederations Cup
10.45am Africa United v ASEAN
3.35pm Latin America v Mediterranean-Middle East

Emerging Nations World Championship
12.20pm Philippines v Niue
2.10pm Solomon Islands v Hong Kong
5.10pm Japan v Poland
6.45pm Greece v Vanuatu