Rugby League Emerging Nations World Championship

Date: 13/10/18

Malta has won the major prize at the 2018 Rugby League Emerging Nations World Championship, defeating Niue 24-16 in the Cup Final at a packed St Marys Leagues Stadium today (Saturday 13 October).
In the day’s other matches, Poland defeated the Philippines 14-10 to win the Trophy Final, claiming 5th spot as a result, and Solomon Islands beat Hong Kong 56-14 in the Plate Final.

Greece won the third place play-off 26-18 over Hungary, and Turkey won the seventh place play-off 27-26 over Vanuatu.

Mediterranean-Middle East won the regional Confederations Cup, defeating African United 32-6. ASEAN beat Latin Heat 18-14 in the regional third place play-off.

In the Physical Disability Test series, Australia beat New Zealand 14-8 to claim a hard-fought series 2-1.

Tournament Director Tas Baitieri said: “Today was a wonderful culmination of a fantastic two weeks of international Rugby League, showcasing newly emerging talent across several continents.

“The feedback from everyone has been fantastic, and the teams are looking forward to the tournament returning in four years.”

Emerging Nations World Championship
Cup Final – Malta 24 def. Niue 16
Third place play-off – Greece 26 def. Hungary 18
Trophy Final – Poland 14 def. Philippines 10
7th place play-off – Turkey 27 def. Vanuatu 26
Plate final – Solomon Islands 56 def. Hong Kong 14

Confederations Cup
Regional Final – Mediterranean-Middle East 32 def. Africa United 6
3rd place play-off – ASEAN 18 def. Latin Heat 14

Physical Disability Test Series
Australia 14 def. New Zealand 8

Emerging Nations World Championship
1. Malta
2. Niue
3. Greece
4. Hungary
5. Poland
6. Philippines
7. Turkey
8. Vanuatu
9. Solomon Islands
10. Hong Kong
11. Japan

Confederations Cup
1. Mediterranean-Middle East
2. Africa United
4. Latin Heat