2021 Rugby League World Cup

South Sydney threequarter Campbell Graham is set to make his debut for Scotland in the final European qualifiers for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup this autumn after being named in their extended train-on squad. The Bravehearts face Serbia and Spain in Pool B, with the top two going through to the main competition in England.

Also included is St Helens’ Lachlan Coote, who made three appearances for Scotland in the 2016 Four Nations tournament. He is joined by Hull KR’s Kane Linnett, who also donned the tartan for the 2013 World Cup.

New Wakefield signing Alex Walker retains his spot, and among the youngsters selected is Leeds’ Callum Mclelland, who play’s for Featherstone. Hull’s Kieran Buchanan also gets his first chance. At the other end of the experience scale, Oliver Wilkes – who has just retired from club rugby after more than 500 games – has put his hand up for a career swansong, having won the first of his eight caps at the 2008 World Cup.

Dale Ferguson has been named skipper and noted: “I am really looking forward to pulling on the jersey. We will be doing all we can to make sure we qualify. They are two extremely important games against nations we have not faced before.”

Head coach Nathan Graham added: “As someone who has been involved with Scotland Rugby League for many years, I am extremely proud to be part of the coaching team for two such important games. The whole playing squad and staff are looking forward to two very exciting and challenging matches.”


Canberra winger Nick Cotric has been called in the Serbian squad. 

Cotric’s brother Ilija has also been included in new head coach Stuart Wilkinson’s selection, along with Paul Momirovski – who was also chosen for the Australian Prime Minister’s representative XIII to tour Fiji – and North Queensland’s Tom Opacic.

The bulk of the squad is made up of domestic players, with eleven from Red Star and seven from Partisan, both in Belgrade.

“I’ve quickly bought into what this nation, the people and the players in Serbia are about, I’m surrounded by passion,” said Wilkinson. “There’s great potential and I’m committed to building something special with this group.”

Serbia accepted an invitation to take the place of Russia, who are restructuring the sport there, and Wilkinson added: “We’ve quickly and sensibly prepared. Fortunately we’ve had five Test matches this summer which has allowed us to observe all the top tier players. Everyone has been given an equal opportunity to showcase their potential to be considered for these qualifiers.”

Young South Sydney hooker Peter Mamouzelos, who scored four tries when the side beat Norway to secure their place in the final European qualifiers for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup, is retained in the Greece squad for the autumn games.

Because of administrative difficulties in the country, Greece – who are aiming to play in their first full World Cup tournament – will again play their ‘home’ game against the Scots in London.

Also included in the squad is Billy Magoulias, the hero of Newton’s last-gasp State Championship win over Burleigh Bears in Sydney, whilst 21 players come from the domestic game, nine playing for defending champions Rhodes Knights.

Head coach, Steve Georgallis, commented: “It is an exciting moment for Greece to play against Scotland and Serbia, two well-established rugby league nations. It will be a tough assignment for our players and, whatever the outcome, I’m sure they will do Greece proud. It is a credit to everyone involved in the Greek Rugby League Association to get to this stage.”

George Stilianos, GRLA president, added: “Scotland are the clear favourites having played in several World Cups already. We feel the earlier matches against Norway and Turkey this year have been great preparation and we are looking forward to this next challenge.”

Aris Dardamanis, Kostas Georgogalas, Greg Koutsimporgiogos, Theodoris Nianiakas, Ioannis Rousoglou (Aris), Konstantinos Gerontakis, Aris Koulizakis, Iasonas Kourkakis, Eugenios Malai, Ioannis Nake, Andreas Shakaj, Nikolaos Stephanou (Attica), Sam Stratis (Asquith), Clinton Hughes, Nathan Hughes, Jordan Meads (Beerwah), Stefano Totidis, Laurence Zarounas (Belrose), Stefanos Bastas (Doncaster), Mitchell Zampetides (Hills District), Treymaine Terzis (Leichhardt Wanderers), Robert Tuliatu (London Skolars), Sebastian Sell (Mittagong), Billy Magoulias (Newtown/Cronulla), John Mitsias (North Sydney), Alexandros Aliou, Pantelis Arfaras, Michaeli Bosmos, Nikolaos Bosmos, Ioannis Frangos, Dimos Kartsonakis, Kosta Katsidonis, Andreas Ktenas, Pantelis Tsattalios (Rhodes), Michael Korkidas (Rosebery), Vasili Tsikrikas, George Tsikrikas (St Marys), Peter Mamouzelos, Nick Mougios (South Sydney), Terry Constantinou (Sunbury), Jake Kambos, Chaise Robinson (Sydney Roosters), Adam Vrahnos, Jake Vrahnos (Sydney University), Nick Nikitaras (Windang)

James Steven Mirceski (Asquith Cheetahs Magpies), Jai Smith (Burleigh Bears), Matthew Dragisic, Nikola Cotric (Canberra Riders), Jason Muranka (Keighley Cougars), Aleksandar Pavlovic (Morava Leskovac), Ilija Radan (Narabeen Sharks), Tom Opacic (North Queensland Cowboys), Bradley Deitz (North Sydney Bears), Dario Abidinovic, Dragan Jankovic, Dusan Milutinovic, Dzavid Jasari, Mihajilo Stojiljkovic, Nikola Srbljanin, Vlado Kusic (Partizan Belgrade), Ilija Cotric (Quenbeyan Blues), Bogdan Raicevic, Mihailo Tomic, Vuk Tomic (Radnicki New Belgrade), Djordje Stefanovic, Djordje Stosic, Filip Stosic, Lazar Zivkovic, Mihajlo Jovic, Stefan Arsic (Radnicki Nis), Aleksandar Djordjevic, Denis Cengaj, Marko Jankovic, Milos Zogovic, Nikola Djuric, Petar Milanovic, Predrag Keglic, Rajko Trifunovic, Stefan Nedeljkovic, Vladislav Dedic, Vojislav Dedic (Red Star Belgrade), Jordan Grant (Redcliffe Dolphins), Zane Bijorac (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Daniel Marjanovic (Sydney University), Aleksa Radic, Andrej Mora, Nikola Pesterac, Relja Petrovic, Stevan Stevanovic (Tasmajdan Tigers Belgrade), Milos Calic (Villefranche XIII), Vladica Nikolic (Villenueve XIII), Ilija Krstic, Vladimir Milutinovic (Villeneuve Minervois XIII), Daniel Burke (Warilla Gorillas), Ben Stevanovic, Paul Momirovski, Rajko Jankovic (West Tigers)

Brett Carter (Barrow Raiders), David Scott (Batley Bulldogs), Brandan Wilkinson, Frankie Mariano (Doncaster), Craig Robertson, Lewis Clarke, Mikey Mair (Edinburgh Eagles), Matt Hogg (Edinburgh Eagles/Newcastle University), Scott Plumridge (Glasgow RL), Ben Kavanagh (Halifax), Kieran Buchanan (Hull FC), Danny Addy, Kane Linnett, Will Oakes (Hull KR), Davey Dixon, Kieran Moran (Keighley Cougars), Nick Glohe (Lakes United Seagulls), Callum Mclelland (Leeds Rhinos), Liam Hood (Leigh Centurions), Ben Hellewell (London Broncos), Charlie Emslie, Connor Terrill (Millom), Dan Turland (Murwillumbah Mustangs), Niall Sidney, Sam Luckley (Newcastle Thunder), Lachlan Stein (Newtown Jets), Izaac Farrell (Rochdale Hornets), Adam Walker (Salford), Campbell Graham (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Lachlan Coote, Luke Douglas (St Helens), Murray Mitchell, Niall Hall (Strathmore Silverbacks), Oscar Thomas (Swinton Lions), Ryan Brierley (Toronto Wolfpack), James Bell (Toulouse Olympique), Hamish Bentley, Kane Bentley (Toulouse Olympique Elite), Joe Mclean, Sam Herron (West Wales Raiders), Alex Walker (Wakefield Trinty), Brett Phillips (Whitehaven RLFC), Dale Ferguson, Oliver Wilkes (Unattached)



Scotland v Serbia

26th Oct


Lochinch (Police Ground), Glasgow


Greece v Scotland

1st Nov


New River Stadium, London


Serbia v Greece

9th Nov


NC Makis Stadium, 11000 Belgrade