2021 Rugby League World Cup

By Brian Lowe,

The USA Hawks have named their 19-man squad for Saturday’s world playoff game against the Cook Islands for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup (RLWC).

There are many familiar names on the roster, including homegrown players Nick Newlin, Joe Eichner and Ryan Burroughs, plus the likes of eligible overseas-based stalwarts from past international campaigns Mark Offerdahl, Eddy Pettybourne, Bureta Faraimo, Kristian Freed and Danny Howard.

USA Rugby League (USARL) 2019 domestic club champion Brooklyn Kings dominate selections with four players being named.

One other player who is set to make his international debut for the United States is Elijah Ieriko. He plays for NRL club Cronulla and qualifies via his father Duke Ieriko, who played for the USA’s national team when they were known as the Tomahawks.

The winner of this game will clinch the very last qualifying berth for the 2021 RLWC in the UK.

Kickoff for Saturday’s world playoff qualifier is set for 5pm (ET) in Jacksonville, Florida. It will be livestreamed on the Americas Rugby League Facebook page.

USA Hawks 19-man squad:

Nick Newlin (Atlanta Rhinos) Connor Donehue, Kevin Reed Jr, Jamil Robinson, Tim Stubbs (Brooklyn Kings), Sonny Pettybourne (Burleigh Bears) Edward Pettybourne (Central Queensland Capras) Elijah Ieriko (Cronulla Sharks), Mark Offerdahl (Goondiwindi Boars) Bureta Faraimo (Hull FC), Rory Humphreys (Ipswich Jets) Charlie Jones, (Jacksonville Axemen), Joe Eichner (Northern Pride), Ryan Burroughs (NOVA Eagles), Matt Shipway (Port Macquarie Sharks) Corey Makelim (Sheffield Eagles), Danny Howard (Wentworthville Magpies), Kristian Freed (Wests Mitchelton), Matt Walsh (White Plains Wombats)