2023 State of Origin

In a year like no other, the State of Origin series will take place in November as the Blue and Maroons look to finalise their 27-man squads shortly after the NRL Premiership is decided.

Coaches have been forced to dig deep into their pockets for 2020 as injuries have taken on a major role in selection once again. Be sure to claim your betstar referral code for a wide range of NRL markets.

Queensland will be hoping to prevent a third-straight series defeat as New South Wales look to construct a dynasty.

New South Wales

Brad Fittler has selected 20 of a possible 27 players for his extended Blues 2020 squad, with close to ten players remaining in contention to join from the Panthers and Storm after Sunday’s Grand Final.

Rabbitohs trio Cody Walker, Damien Cook and Cameron Murray were added to the NSW squad after Friday’s defeat, with Raiders stars Jack Wighton and Nick Cotric also being named in Fittler’s crew.

The Blues are favoured to retain the series in 2020 and move into a dynasty under Fittler, with their third-straight series victory in sight this year.

NSW will gain the available services of Nathan Cleary, Josh Addo-Carr, Ryan Papenhuyzen, Stephen Crichton, Isaah Yeo, Liam Martin, Dale Finucane, Josh Mansour and Moses Letoa in their next batch of inclusions.

2019 Wally Lewis medallist James Tedesco will hope to be fit in time for the opening game on November 4 at Adelaide Oval, as the Roosters star looks to overcome a knee injury.

SQUAD: Nathan Brown, Reagan Campbell-Gillard, Damien Cook, Boyd Cordner, Nick Cotric, Angus Crichton, Tyson Frizell, Clint Gutherson, Payne Haas, Luke Keary, Zac Lomax, Cameron McInnes, Cameron Murray, Junior Paulo, Daniel Saifiti, James Tedesco, Jake Trbojevic, Daniel Tupou, Cody Walker, Jack Wighton (seven more to be named)


The Maroons have been marred by injuries in their selection process, with star names dropping like flies in the back-third of the NRL season.

Superstar fullback Kalyn Ponga has been ruled out of the November series while Cowboys duo Michael Morgan and Kyle Feldt will be sidelined, along with Anthony Milford, Moses Mbye and David Fifita.

Queensland have 11 positions to fill after Penrith and Melbourne conclude the NRL year this weekend and will likely welcome Cameron Munster, who is also under an injury cloud, Christian Welch, Felise Kaufusi, Tino Faasuamaleaui and Kurt Capewell to their squad.

Wayne Bennett has been dealt a depleted backline as AJ Brimson and Edrick Lee are tipped to lead from the back, with Xavier Coates, Hymel Hunt and Phillip Sami all waiting in the wings.

SQUAD: Jai Arrow, AJ Brimson, Moeaki Fotuaika, Phillip Sami, Valentine Holmes, Coen Hess, Xavier Coates, Patrick Carrigan, Edrick Lee, Hymel Hunt, Ben Hunt, Josh Kerr, Harry Grant, Daly Cherry-Evans, Lindsay Collins, Jake Friend (11 more to be named)