North America Rugby League

A new North American professional rugby league competition launched on March 31 called North American Rugby League. NARL will be a 14-team competition that will play its first round of games on the weekend of June 19, 2021 in Brooklyn, New York, and June 20, 2021 in Las Vegas.

Teams from across the United States and Canada will compete in three conferences.

The East Coast Conference comprising Atlanta Rhinos, Boston 13s, Brooklyn Kings, Cleveland Rugby League, New York Rugby League and Washington Cavalry. The West Coast Conference will be made up of Austin Armadillos, Las Vegas Blackjacks, Phoenix Venom, Portland Loggers, San Diego Swell and San Francisco Rush.

Due to COVID-19 regulations, a Canada Cup will be played between Toronto Wolfpack and Ottawa Aces, before both teams enter the East Coast Conference in 2022.

Speaking ahead of the launch, NARL’s chief operating officer Robert Curtis said, “I’m delighted to introduce the North American Rugby League to rugby league fans around the world in what we firmly believe is the next big evolutionary step for rugby league.

“The NARL is the culmination of years of research and market testing and has been designed to bring you the hardest hitting, fastest and most exciting sport on the planet. Matches begin this summer. It’s time to get excited about a new class of contact sport.

“We see NARL as an addition to the exciting rugby league structures in the United States and certainly do not see ourselves as a rival or rebel league. Our sole aim is to grow the fantastic sport of rugby league in North America and create a legacy for generations to come.”