Australian Kangaroos

The Australian Rugby League Commission has today confirmed the following squad to represent the Gallagher Kangaroos at the Rugby League World Cup 2021.

The Kangaroos selectors have named 13 debutants in the squad, which will depart for the United Kingdom on Thursday ahead of the World Cup.

The Kangaroos will kick off their World Cup campaign on October 15 against Fiji, and will play additional pool matches against Scotland and Italy.

The Commission also confirmed Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco as Captain and Penrith Panthers forward Isaah Yeo and South Sydney Rabbitohs forward Cameron Murray as Vice-Captains.

“I congratulate all these players on the selection for their country,” ARLC Chairman Mr Peter V’landys AM said. “They should be very proud as there is no greater honour than to put on the green and gold of Australia. The Kangaroos have not played since 2019 so it will be an important moment when these players step onto the field in the United Kingdom.

“The Commission is excited to see the return of international rugby league in a tournament, and are confident the Australian team will do us proud.”

Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga congratulated all of the players on their selection in the squad.

“We have an extremely healthy mix of incumbent players as well as a number of players who are yet to represent their country,” Meninga said.

“We will have players who have performed on this stage before. Many of these players have produced form when it counts in both State of Origin and also in the Finals Series.

“The balance of the squad is extremely strong and will hopefully produce the results we’re after over the duration of the tournament.”

The squad, listed alphabetically, is as follows:

Josh Addo-Carr (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

Matt Burton* (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Parramatta Eels)

Patrick Carrigan* (Brisbane Broncos)

Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Nathan Cleary* (Penrith Panthers)

Lindsay Collins* (Sydney Roosters)

Reuben Cotter* (North Queensland Cowboys)

Angus Crichton* (Sydney Roosters)

Tino Fa’asuamaleaui* (Gold Coast Titans)

Campbell Graham* (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Harry Grant* (Melbourne Storm)

Valentine Holmes (North Queensland Cowboys)

Ben Hunt (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Liam Martin* (Penrith Panthers)

Latrell Mitchell (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)

Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs) – Vice-Captain

Jeremiah Nanai* (North Queensland Cowboys)

Murray  Taulagi* (North Queensland Cowboys)

James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters) – Captain

Jake Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)

Isaah Yeo* (Penrith Panthers)