2021 Rugby League World Cup

England Head Coach Shaun Wane has named a 22-player squad for Friday night’s match against Fiji at the AJ Bell Stadium in Salford – both teams’ last hit-out before the start of the Rugby League World Cup next weekend.

The squad includes 18 members of the 24-strong World Cup squad Wane named last Friday, and Wane has added Liam Marshall, Sam Powell, Harry Smith and Jake Wardle to increase his rotation options.

Two members of St Helens’ winning team from the Betfred Super League Grand Final – Joe Batchelor and Jake Welsby – are included in the 22, and all six NRL-based players in the World Cup squad are also set to feature.

With England’s World Cup captain Sam Tomkins not included, Wane will announce the captain for the match in the next 24 hours.

In addition to Tomkins and John Bateman, who is unavailable this weekend as he serves the second match in the three-match suspension imposed following Wigan’s Super League Play-Off defeat by Leeds Rhinos, the other four World Cup squad players not included were all involved in the Grand Final – Morgan Knowles, Matty Lees and Tommy Makinson of St Helens, and Mikolaj Oledzki of Leeds.

Tickets are available online now from £15 for adults and £5 for under-16s and concessions – Rugby League (rugby-league.com) – and will be available to buy from the stadium on the night.

The match will be streamed live on the newly rebranded RLWC2021 app.

England squad to play Fiji, Friday October 6

Andy Ackers 

Joe Batchelor 

Tom Burgess 

Mike Cooper 

Herbie Farnworth 

Ryan Hall 

Chris Hill 

Liam Marshall 

Michael McIlorum 

Mike McMeeken 

Kai Pearce-Paul 

Sam Powell 

Victor Radley 

Harry Smith 

Marc Sneyd

Luke Thompson 

Jake Wardle 

Kallum Watkins

Jack Welsby
Elliott Whitehead
George Williams
Dom Young