2021 Rugby League World Cup

Head Coach Mal Meninga has named seven debutants for the Gallagher Kangaroos’ opening World Cup clash against Fiji in Leeds on Saturday, October 15.

Murray Taulagi (Kangaroos Number 836), Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (834), Angus Crichton (833), Jeremiah Nanai (835), Harry Grant (839), Reuben Cotter (838) and Pat Carrigan (837) will all play their first match for the Kangaroos at Headingley Stadium.

Fullback James Tedesco will captain the Kangaroos against Fiji.

“This is an extremely strong team and suits what we are trying to achieve over the whole tournament,” Meninga said. “We have three pool matches and I aim to play every player during the pool matches.

“The Grand Final players will not play against Fiji, while a number of the players we have named have not played in weeks. It’s important to give them match time as we look at our combinations.

“All of the players who will not play against Fiji will play the next match against Scotland.”

The squad, listed with official squad numbers, is as follows:

  1. James Tedesco (c)

9.    Josh Addo-Carr

8.    Latrell Mitchell

4.    Valentine Holmes

23. Murray Taulagi*

7.    Cameron Munster

2.    Daly Cherry-Evans

18. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui*

3.    Ben Hunt

5.    Jake Trbojevic

17. Angus Crichton*

22. Jeremiah Nanai*

11. Cameron Murray (VC)


20. Harry Grant*

16. Reuben Cotter*

13. Pat Carrigan*

10. Jack Wighton

18th Man – Matt Burton (12)

19th Man – Campbell Graham (19)

*Denotes Kangaroos debutant