Kiwi Ferns

Richmond utility Abigail Roache has been brought into the Kiwi Ferns touring squad to replace prop Kararaina Wira-Kohu who unfortunately suffered a calf tear last Saturday. 

Roache was awarded the Cathy Friend Women’s Player of the Year Award at the Auckland Rugby League Annual Awards earlier this year and is yet to make her Kiwi Ferns debut.

“Losing Kararaina was a huge loss for us knowing how hard she worked over the past four years, on behalf of the team I wish her well on her recovery,” Head coach Ricky Henry said. 

“Abigail’s selection was a reward for her current form in New Zealand right now.

“She can cover multiple positions and I’m looking forward to seeing what she has to offer in this campaign.”

Kiwi Ferns World Cup squad (amended) by touring number: 

1 Apii Nicholls
2 Katelyn Vahaakolo
3 Autumn-Rain Stephens Daly 
4 Page McGregor
5 Madison Bartlett
6 Laishon Albert-Jones
7 Raecene McGregor 
8 Mya Hill-Moana 
9 Krystal Rota
10 Annetta-Claudia Nu’uausala 
11 Roxette Murdoch-Masila
12 Amber-Paris Hall 
13 Georgia Hale 
14 Nita Maynard 
15 Abigail Roache 
16 Charlotte Scanlan 
17 Christyl Stowers
18 Otesa Pule
19 Hailee-Jay Ormond-Maunsell 
20 Crystal Tamarua 
21 Shanice Parker
22 Karli Hansen 
23 Brianna Clark 
24 Mele Hufanga