Fiji Bati

New Zealand will have revenge on their minds from five years ago when they tussle with Fiji in the World Cup quarter-finals in Hull.

In 2017 the two countries met at the same stage with the Bati edging the Kiwis 4-2 in Wellington.

It was a humiliating day for New Zealand and one they will be out to put right at the MKM Stadium.

Michael Maguire’s men have looked the goods after cruising through Group C with three consecutive wins.

They defeated Lebanon 34-12, smashed Jamaica 68-6 and flogged Ireland 48-10.

With arguably the best pack in the tournament, the Kiwis have been impressive.

Dallin Watene-Zelezniak has bagged four tries while Peta Hiku also has four and Jordan Rapana three.

Jahrome Hughes made a sensational return when he steered his team to victory over the Irish.

After missing the Wolfhounds game, Watene-Zelezniak’s return is the only change to the New Zealand squad.

He comes in for the suspended Jared Waerea-Hargreaves.

Goal-kicking has been the only issue to trouble Maguire at this stage.

The Bati qualified for the quarter-finals after defeating Scotland 30-14.

Fiji made short work of Italy but were dominated by Australia in their opening game.

The Bati will need to improve and be at their best to knock off the world number one team.

But with players such as Vilame Kikau, Api Korosiau and Maika Sivo in their ranks, they have the players to cause the Kiwis some trouble.

Fiji Bati

  1. Sunia Turuva
  2. Maika Sivo
  3. Kevin Naiqama
  4. Semi Valemei
  5. Vuate Karawalevu
  6. Henry Raiwalui
  7. Brandon Wakeham
  8. Korbin Sims
  9. Apisai Koroisau
  10. King Vuniyayawa
  11. Viliame Kikau
  12. Siua Wong
  13. Taniela Sadrugu
  14. Mitieli Vulikijapani
  15. Penioni Tagituimua
  16. Tevita Toloi
  17. Lamar Manuel-Liolevave
  18. Ben Nakubuwai
  19. Tui Kamikamica

New Zealand Kiwis

  1. Joseph Manu
  2. Ronaldo Mulitalo
  3. Briton Nikora
  4. Isaac Liu
  5. Jordan Rapana
  6. Dylan Brown
  7. Jahrome Hughes
  8. Jesse Bromwich
  9. Brandon Smith
  10. James Fisher-Harris
  11. Isaiah Papali’i
  12. Kenny Bromwich
  13. Joseph Tapine
  14. Peta Hiku
  15. Kieran Foran
  16. Nelson Asofa-Solomona
  17. Dallin Watene-Zelezniak
  18. Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad
  19. Scott Sorensen
John is a freelance journalist who has been writing about rugby league for the past decade. He covered the 2013 and 2017 World Cups, has appeared on TV and radio, and been published in The I-Paper, The Guardian, The Sun, The Mirror, League Express, Inside Sport magazine and Big League. He writes regularly for Forty-20 magazine, League Weekly and co-hosts the podcasts By the Balls and Six To Go.