South American Championship

The second South American Rugby League Championship is set to be played this weekend in Colombia.

The championship will be held in the city of Jerico, and the teams competing include Chile, Brazil and Colombia.

The Brazilians are the current holders of the South American Championship, having won the inaugural event in 2018. Chile didn’t compete in that tournament because of its involvement in the Americas Championship that year, which doubled as a qualifying tournament for the just-completed Rugby League World Cup.

The winner of the South American Championship will advance to the 2023 Americas Cup against the USA, Canada and Jamaica.

Chile is the highest ranked of the three countries at #32. Brazil is #40, while Colombia checks in at #45.

South American Rugby League Championship schedule:

Game A: Chile vs Brazil – Friday, November 25

Game B: Colombia vs Game A loser – Saturday, November 26

Game C: Colombia vs Game A winner – Sunday, November 27

Brian is a strong and effective communicator with more than 30 years’ experience in broadcast and electronic media. He has been writing for Rugby League Planet since 2012 and is frequently the first reporter to break news stories about the sport. He has been our North American correspondent reporting on news in the US, Canada and Jamaica covering everything from league standings to strategy analysis to breaking news on key trades to editorials and colourful features on athletes. He is now writing about rugby league on a broader scale to cover developments around the globe. An accomplished storyteller, Brian started his career in Australian radio, before moving to the United States. He is an experienced podcast host and producer and is also a successful TV commentator having done play-by-play and analysis for ESPN, FOX Sports and the Rugby League European Federation (RLEF) among others. Brian has his own YouTube channel @brianlowe5567 where he posts his interviews for Rugby League Planet. Be sure to check it out and subscribe.