Pontypridd ready for Student Rugby League Four Nations

Pontypridd RFC is getting ready to stage the 17th Student Rugby League Four Nations, starting this Sunday when Ireland take on England (kick-off 1.30pm). Wales then face Scotland at 5pm.

Day two is on Wednesday 12th July where a clash between the auld enemy of England v Scotland opens things at 3.30pm. Wales then take on Ireland at 7pm.

The tournament then reaches its traditional conclusion on Saturday 15th July when Scotland face Ireland at 1.30pm before Wales conclude against England at 5pm.

This will be the 17th staging of a Four Nations, with England winning the last such tournament back in 2019, their 13th title. The only other winners of the tournament are Wales who last lifted the trophy in 2012 so will be hoping to win their fourth title this year.

Scotland and Ireland have yet to win the tournament but the Scots did take second place in 2003, 2006, 2018 and 2019. A Tri-Nations was held last year between England, Scotland and Ireland, as Wales were unable to take part, with England lifting the trophy.

Wales head coach Craig Fisher said: “The lads, my staff and I are really excited about the start of the Four Nations on Sunday.

“Our preparation has been very good and we’ve trained hard. There have been some squad changes since we first announced. Injuries to key personnel like Finn Swift and Alfie Valasco, means we’ve brought in Mason Phillips from Salford and Shane Lee who’s recently played for London Skolars and I personally think is the best halfback in Wales. Both Mason and Shane have fitted in well as they were already members of our extended squad, so know our standards, expectations and systems.

“We have no illusions that the week ahead will be physically and mentally gruelling, but we’re confident of performing strongly and challenging in every game against some tough opposition. I think with our work ethic and the character of the squad we will be challengers for the title.”

Entry to all games is £5 for adults, £3 for concessions and free for U16s. A bundle ticket for adults is just £10 for all of the games. For fans unable to attend, all matches will be streamed live on the England University Rugby League YouTube. Please click here for the tournament channel.

Live text updates for Wales matches can be followed at https://rugbyleague.wales/students-fixtures.

The declared squads are as follows…


Harrison Ashby (University of Nottingham)

Benjamin Cripps (University of Gloucestershire)

Oscar Fisher (Newcastle College)

Ryan Griffiths (Open University)

Cameron Hodgson (University of Central Lancashire)

Gabriel Holt (University of Central Lancashire)

Kyle Jones (University of Wolverhampton)

Shane Lee (Coleg y Cymoedd)

Jamie Leech (University of South Wales)

Ben Luxford (Birmingham University)

William Lynch (Liverpool John Moore University)

Iestyn Milburn (Bangor University)

Dylan Morgan (Coleg y Cymoedd)

Garin Nicholls (Abingdon & Witney College)

Mason Phillips (University of Central Lancashire)

Jacob Purcell (Cardiff Metropolitan University)

Joseph Reardon (Cardiff Metropolitan University)

Jake Redmond (Bangor University)

Scott Simons (Cardiff Metropolitan University)

Max Walsh (Bangor University)


Chris Ball (University of West London)

Jordan Bull (Leeds Beckett University)

Jack Cherry (University of Nottingham)

Isaac Coleman (University of York)

Alfie Crawford (Leeds Beckett University)

Christian Gale (London South Bank University)

Adam Lavin (Lancaster University)

Jake Lightowler (Northumbria University)

Jack Mallinson (Leeds Beckett University)

Charlie McCurrie (University of Leicester)

Iwan Orr (Leeds Beckett University)

Luke Phoenix (Loughborough University)

Aaron Powell (University of Warwick)

Nathan Redmond (Loughborough University)

Joe Riley (University of Leeds)

Matty Rudd (Manchester Metropolitan University)

Nathan Rushworth (Northumbria University)

Leon Stewart (University of Hull)

Joe Wardill (Leeds Beckett University)

Daniel White (Northumbria University)


Thomas Ashurst (Priestly College)

Paul Bolger (University College Dublin)

George Charnock (Eccles Sixth Form College)

Nathan Connell (Coach Core Apprentices)

Conor Creaby (Atlantic Technological University, Galway)

Eoin Creaby (Atlantic Technological University, Galway)

Alex Duff (Technological University, Dublin)

Sean Findlow (Liverpool John Moores University)

Jamie Gill (Wath Academy)

David Goodman (University of Limerick)

Josh Hawthorne (Loughborough University)

Ryan Hogg (Technological University of the Shannon)

Ellis Keppel (Liverpool John Moores University)

Jake Murray (Maynooth University)

Louis O’Sullivan (Hartpury College)

James Mulvaney (Leeds Beckett University)

Sean Tracey (Technological University, Meath)

Christopher Williams (Setanta College)

Samuel Winney (St Mary’s University)

Harry Worsley (Liverpool John Moores University)


Pete Burns (Edinburgh University)

Mackenzie Cumming (University of Gloucestershire)

Jordan Duncan (British Academy of Gardening and Design)

Finlay Hamilton (Loughborough University)

Jonny Hutton (Furness College)

Ben Jardine (Northumbria University)

Cameron MacDonald (University of Exeter)

Mikey Mair (Open University)

Jack McMillan (University of Bradford)

Ben Morris (Northumbria University)

George Murray (University of Gloucestershire)

Lachlan Nairn (Fettes College)

Luke Punton (Sydney School of Business Technology)

Oliver Redding (University of Leicester)

Ollie Rees (Loughborough University)

Luke Sayers-Wilson (Manchester University)

Oli Shakeshaft (Northumbria University)

Fergus Simpson (Open University)

Connor Terrill (Furness College)

Matthew Vallance (Nottingham Trent University)

Lyle Wilson (Manchester University)

Cameron Young (Northumbria University)

Tournament History

1994 – Hosts: Wales – Winners: England

1995 – Hosts: England – Winners: England

1998 – Hosts: Scotland – Winners: England

2000 – Hosts: England – Winners: England

2003 – Hosts: Scotland – Winners: England

2004 – Hosts: Wales – Winners: Wales

2006 – Hosts: Ireland – Winners: England

2009 – Hosts: England – Winners: Wales

2010 – Hosts: Ireland – Winners: England

2011 – Hosts: Scotland – Winners: England

2012 – Hosts: Wales – Winners: Wales

2014 – Hosts: England – Winners: England

2015 – Hosts: Ireland – Winners: England

2016 – Hosts: Scotland – Winners: England

2018 – Hosts: Wales – Winners: England

2019 – Hosts: Scotland – Winners: England