Jamaica Women's Team 2023

The Jamaica, Canada and USA squads have been named for the inaugural Americas North Women’s Championship, to be held at the University of West Indies Mona Bowl in Kingston, which will carry world ranking points.

The hosts will play USA this Saturday, 23 September; USA face Canada on Monday 25 September; with the final match pitting Jamaica against Canada on Wednesday 27 September, all games kicking off at 3.30pm local time.

Jamaica women’s head coach Andrew Dixon said: “I am highly anticipating our debut in women international fixtures in these Championships. We go in as underdogs where experience is concerned and the match ups against USA and Canada will be an uphill task, however we are gearing up to leave our mark.

“The girls have been preparing at a steady pace and are excited to play, they are aware they are history makers. It’s a major honour to host these championships. This platform will contribute to the growth of women’s rugby league in the Americas and will increase local interest. Strategically, internationals are crucial for us.”

Canada co-captain Gabrielle Hindley noted: “Coming out of the World Cup, growing rugby league domestically has been a huge focus for the Ravens including the launch of the first Women’s National Rugby League Championships, which was hosted in Edmonton this past summer and saw representation from three provinces and was a huge success for developing pathways to the national level.

“I am really excited for the upcoming tournament in Kingston, it is a huge step for women’s rugby league in North America. I am excited to see how our team pulls together.”

USA Hawks women’s head coach Ady Cooney claimed: “In the vibrant world of women’s sport, the Americas North Championship shines as a beacon of opportunity. It marks the beginning of this exciting journey. We anticipate great things on the horizon for women’s rugby league in America.”

Lovel Atkinson, Janelle Cole, Zahra Ennis, Jamila Fairclough, Sherine Johnson, Tihanna Lewinson, Alicia Richards, Glacia Simpson, Shakayla Morris, Shanique Smith, Mischka Stewart, Shanice Stewart, (Duhaney Park Red Sharks), Shoya Gordon, Mackayla McCalla, Anneisha Nash, Tajera Nicholson, Venisha Mcleish, (Jamaica Defence Force), Darcey Price, (Salford Red Devils), Alaine Taylor, Nassandra Miller, (St Bess Sledge Hammers), Kamoya Forrest , (Tampa Mischief), Crystal Groves, (Toronto Scottish), Ameir Kinlock, Daynna Angus, Debisha Scarlett, Natassia Scarlett, Nazomi Christie, (Washington Blvd Bulls)

Maddy Aberg, Dan Franda, (Dublin Exiles), Fedelia Angles, Erin Gawley, Megan Pakulis, Candance Scholten, Natalie Tam, Tamisha Toussaint, Petra Woods, (Ontario Ospreys), Savannah Bacchus), Matilda Butler (Sheffield Eagles UK), Rachel Choboter (Currumbin Eagles AUS), Chantelle Crowl (St Helens UK), Gabrielle Hindley, Ada Okomkwo–Dappa, (BC Storm), Brittany Jones, Ale Lewis, Sarah Maguire, Liz Steele (Alberta Broncos), Lauren Mueller (London Broncos UK), Ferris Sandboe (St George Dragons AUS),

Sarah Anderson, Nicole Fisch, Kadie Sanford, (Chicago North Shore), Marcaya Bailous, Narcisse Jordan, Danielle Pola Walko-Siua, (Cleveland), Jeanna Beard (unaffiliated), Samantha Black-Keels, Rachael Bradley, Robyn Oliveri, Nicole Snyder, (Tampa Mischief), Mariah Blackmore, Maxine Fonua, (San Jose Seahawks), Cyndi Campbell , Caitlin Davis (Carolina Storm), Agnes Fuerst, Tiana Granby, Paris Hart, Brittany Royes, Christine Sargent, Sha Marica Scott, (Roots Rugby), Courtney Treco (London Broncos), Taylor White ( Jacksonville Women)