The Australian Rugby League Commission has today confirmed the 21-player squad to represent the Gallagher Kangaroos in the 2023 Pacific Championships.

The Kangaroos selectors have named four debutants in the squad, which will play in the tournament against Samoa and New Zealand.

The squad also includes eight players who took part in Sunday’s Grand Final.

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow will also become the first player from the new NRL Club the Dolphins to represent Australia.

The Kangaroos will play Samoa at Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville, on October 14, followed by New Zealand at AAMI Park, Melbourne on October 28.

The Commission also confirmed Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco as Captain.

“These players have all been exceptional this season and should be very proud to play in the green and gold colours. It’s the ultimate achievement in our game,” ARLC Chairman Mr Peter V’landys AM said.

“The Commission is excited to see further growth in the Pacific through this tournament, highlighted by the strength of the squad assembled to represent the Kangaroos.”

Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga congratulated all of the players on their selection in the squad.

“The quality we saw in the regular season, the State of Origin series and the Finals Series means we have been able to put together an outstanding squad,” Meninga said.

“The squad has a healthy blend of representatives from last year’s World Cup, as well as others who have performed extremely well over the course of the season.”

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks player Nicho Hynes has been added to the Gallagher Kangaroos squad following the withdrawal of Nathan Cleary due to injury.

The updated squad, listed alphabetically, is as follows:

Josh Addo-Carr Bulldogs

Patrick Carrigan Broncos

Daly Cherry-Evans Sea Eagles

Selwyn Cobbo* Broncos

Lindsay Collins Roosters

Reuben Cotter Cowboys

Tino Fa’asuamaleaui Titans

Thomas Flegler* Broncos

Harry Grant Storm

Payne Haas Broncos

Nicho Hynes* Sharks

Valentine Holmes Cowboys

Ben Hunt Dragons

Liam Martin Panthers

Cameron Munster Storm

Cameron Murray Rabbitohs

Kotoni Staggs* Broncos

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow* Dolphins

James Tedesco © Roosters

Jake Trbojevic Sea Eagles

Isaah Yeo Panthers

* Denotes debutant

Tickets are on sale for both Kangaroos matches, at Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville, on Saturday, October 14 against Samoa, and at AAMI Park, Melbourne, on Saturday, October 28 against New Zealand, from $20 for NRL Club Members, and from $25 for General Public.

Tickets are available via nrl.com/tickets.