Johnathan Thurston

Australian Rugby League Commission (ARLC) Chairman Peter V’landys AM has today congratulated North Queensland Cowboys, Queensland Maroons and Australian Kangaroos icon Johnathan Thurston, who has been inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame.

Thurston has been recognised for an illustrious career which spanned 2002-2018, starting at the Bulldogs, playing a pivotal role in North Queensland’s maiden premiership victory in 2015, being a prominent figure in State of Origin and international rugby league, and earning the Golden Boot Award three times and the Dally M Medal on four occasions.

“On behalf of the Australian Rugby League Commission, I congratulate Johnathan on this significant honour which is so justly deserved. It must be stressed that this is the Sport Australia Hall of Fame which covers all sports and to be included shows how dominant he was in Rugby League to be selected”, Mr V’landys said.

“’JT’ is now in a group of all-time greats in Rugby League which includes Clive Churchill AO, Wally Lewis AM, Dally Messenger, Norm Provan, Arthur Beetson OAM, Bob Fulton AM, current Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga AM and Brad Fittler.

“Johnathan has been a central figure in incredible moments on the field, including the famous 2015 Grand Final. ‘JT’ kicking the winning field goal will remain one of the greatest Grand Final moments. Importantly, he has also achieved great things off the field as well, particularly understanding his role as an inspiration for Indigenous communities.

“From someone who was considered too small for first grade, he played 323 NRL games, achieving extraordinary things in the process.

“He continues to be an inspiration for many people across the country and beyond. This honour not only recognises his contribution to Rugby League, but sport in Australia more broadly.”