North Macedonia to make rugby league debut

North Macedonia will make their debut in a men’s senior international for world ranking points when they face Poland on Saturday 21 October at Forshaw Park, Sylvania Waters, New South Wales, Australia (kick off 3pm, local time).

Head coach, Nyke Zammit, said: “This is a fantastic opportunity for us to test ourselves against a very talented side. I have no doubt our youngsters will give a great account of themselves in their first official representative match.”

In his squad is Guinness World record holder James Mirceski who, when he played for Serbia, scored the fastest try in international rugby league history when he went over after 7.9 seconds against Greece, at the Makis Stadium, in Belgrade in November 2019 in a World Cup qualifier.

Poland include former NRL and Super League player Harry Siejka who makes his first appearance for them since 2018, Ethan Niszczot nephew of former South Sydney great Ziggy Niszczot, and Malakai Watene-Zelezniak who will be making his test debut for Poland, one of five newcomers.

Jamie Szczerbanik, Poland men’s national team coach, commented: “It’s exciting times for Polish Rugby League. North Macedonia are going to be a strong side with the added confidence of winning the Harmony 9’s last week, we will need to be at our best.”


James Suleski (Avondale JRLFC) , Aledin Hrvat (Canterbury Bulldogs), Jayden Foye (Cronulla Sharks) , Michael Boskovski, James Mirceski (De La Salle Caringbah JRLFC), Aleksander Srbinovski (Figtree JRLFC), Josh Boicheski (Kiama Knights JRLFC), Jamie Miletic, Justin Miletic (Leichhardt Wanderers JRLFC) , Josh Kosteski (Queenbeyan Roos JRLFC), Jake Mitrevski (Shellharbour Sharks JRLFC), Angelo Avramovski , Elia Georgievski, Xanda Georgievski, Jayden Gouganovski, Jimmy Kostrevski, Sean Metelovski, Mitchel Stojanovski, Aleksandar Stojkovski (Unattached)


Chippie Korostchuk (c) (Brothers Townsville), Daniel Stiff (Burraneer Hammerheads), Norbert Balacinski (Centrals ASA), Harry Siejka (c) (Cessnock Goannas), Callum Gromek (Collegians Wollongong), Brayden Tyburski (Colyton Colts), Simon Maslanka (Jamberoo Superoos), Matthew Stachnik (Kotara bears), Ethan Niszczot (Kurri Kurri Bulldogs), Nathan Michalowski (Mt Kembla Lowries), Tynan Foster (Mullumbimby Giants), Zac Lipowicz (Penrith Panthers), Evan Artsivourtsis (Picton Magpies), Arek Werstak (Runaway Bay Seagulls), Malakai Watene-Zelezniak (St Clair Comets),Reece Lipowicz (St Mary’s Saints), Lochlan Srama (Swifts Bluebirds), Mitchell Shaw (West Belconnen Warriors), Adam Artsivourtsis (Wingham Tigers)