Duhaney Park Firestorm Retain National Division 2 Title

Rugby League Jamaica successfully concluded its 9th National Division 2 competition on at the UWI Mona Bowl. The 8-team competition once more saw cross town rivals Duhaney Park Firestorm and Washington Blvd Bulls battle for supremacy after previously getting past Liguanea Dragons and Mona Pelicans in the semi-finals the week before.

The Firestorm emerged champions with a narrow 16-10 win. The final was a defensive quagmire throughout as both teams found it difficult to get points. With one minute to go and the score locked at 10 all, it was a massive defensive stop by the Firestorm that earned them victory. Bulls was in possession and threatening to score, however, Oshane Edie was bundled into touch. At the restart, Javian Bryan broke free for the Firestorm and sprinted 80 meters to score under the posts to seal the win for the champs.

Other try scorers for the Firestorm were Akel Johnson and Akeem Murray, while Kemoy Whyte kicked two goals. For the Bulls, tries came from Racheed Pencle and Shawayne Collins, while Shamoy Stewart kicked a goal.

Commenting on the competition Director of Rugby Romeo Monteith said, “It was a great competition, one of the most competitive to date with very close scores in most of the games. The Firestorm have proven their resilience one more and congrats to them. One of the highlights for us is the high number of players aged between 18-23 that participated. This is really our target audience for this Division, and we see some fantastic athletes coming through.”